Vienna Art WeekNews

FRIDA ORUPABO

Frida ORUPABO, Untitled, 2019, Courtesy Galerie Nordenhake, Berlin, Photo: Gerhard Kassner, Berlin

Date and time

22/10/20209/01/2021

FRIDA ORUPABO born 1986 in Sarpsborg, Norway
lives and works in Oslo

The official-artistic career of Frida Orupabo developed out of the digital world of algorithms: she was working as a social worker for sex workers and victims forced into prostitution when Arthur Jafa came across her Instagram account @nemiepeba three years ago. It is certainly not a convenient aesthetic that operates Orupabo's feed and that ultimately led her to the Venice Biennale in 2019, but rather a relentless confrontation with omnipresent historical and simultaneously contemporary sociological problems: gender, racism, post-colonialism, violence, identity. Since 2013 the Norwegian-Nigerian artist has collected almost archivally authentic visual evidence distributed in popular media, amongst them photographic and film records of colonial violence and images of women. The imaging sources are multi-faceted; they imply the establishment of an eternal flow of norms yet at the same time dismissing them. Orupabo decodes this ambiguity in her artistic work and scrutinises the existing images constructed by art history, science, pop culture and colonialism, not without evoking others at the same time. She integrates the public image into the self image and addresses herself to her own origin just as much as to the moral and ethical failures of humanity.

We see a hen mounted on the wall of the exhibition space, made movable by means of paper clips, independent of the status of its vitality. It is a symbol for ritual and sustenance, abstracted from the immediate frame of reference of humans, who since time immemorial are accustomed to subjugate life forms without a second thought and to exploit them for their own good. This hierarchic compulsion does not even spare members of their own species. It is mostly such monochrome works that Frida Orupabo offers to us in the exhibition spaces. The complete denial of colour is thereby not based only on the lack of colour of the archival material or on aesthetic expediency, but instead is deliberately deployed in order to filter and manipulate fundamental essences and intensities. In a six-part photo work the artist directs our sight from seemingly abstract patterns from nature towards the unsparing documentation of an injection, that appears even more concrete in dialogue with the visually and cognitively mild abstractions. In this, we feel ourselves reminded of the fact that mankind has only ostensibly freed itself from nature; it continues to dominate via aspects beyond our control, such as disease. The human coping mechanism for this disempowerment from the outset has always been religion: the mediating question between mankind and nature, "jesus?", reminds us not least of the enforced conversion to Christianity in large areas of the colonial territories.

In addition to black/white, there are also impact-suffused colours such as an intensive red – an uncompromising, active colour that additionally activates the subjects of the works as well as the performativity inherent in them. The colour accompanies us through the entire space and leads us to a large-scale photograph of a man, revised into a negative. His hat in his hand, he smiles at us in friendly fashion and one cannot avoid wondering what his story might be. Even without an answer one feels connected to him, and experiences the search, frequently revisited by Orupabo, for the relationship between foreign identity and one's own identity. The fact that this relationship in many cases is not at all comfortable is demonstrated by a video work installed on the floor: due to the placement the viewer is forced to look down on the groups represented there. This metaphorical staging of perspective taxes our conscience; as in involuntary agent, one becomes a protagonist of an unavoidable situation of discrimination.

In her works, Orupabo introduces almost untold yet ubiquitous narratives that unite the various dimensions of time and reality with one another. This multidimensionality is based not only on the appropriated visual material; instead, Orupabo's works far rather constitute their own proper time that relates to consensual perception. They compel one to look, and return it generally unequivocally; they inscribe themselves irreversibly on our memory and grasp at the collective (un)known. They trigger individually electrifying, emotional chains of association, independent of the personal socio-cultural background; the sum of these chains ultimately coalesces in the works into an unending reception platform that is not dissimilar to the internet. Frida Orupabo's work is timeless, constantly changing, reflecting not only the ephemeral exhibition spaces but also more permanent ways of thinking.
(Teresa Kamencek, 2020, translated by Sarah Cormack)

LOCATION

Margaretenstraße 5, 1040 Wien

http://koenig2.at/

+43 1 5857470

koenig2@christinekoeniggalerie.at

KOENIG2 by_robbygreif

Christine König Galerie was founded in 1989 in Vienna. The gallery represents a variety of internationally recognized artists and works simultaneously with a decidedly younger generation of upcoming artists. The gallery’s program and its selection of the artists reflects the central concerns of Christine König: Politics and activism, feminism, literature, as well as post-conceptual approaches.
In the last decades art has become a dominant field of action and discourse. Visual arts can help develop an understanding for socio-political and cultural processes of change. In a highly stimulating and productive climate, galleries have assumed the role of intermediaries, making a preliminary selection and using their intellectual resources in a responsible way to back and promote certain positions and artists vis-à-vis collectors.

KOENIG2 by_robbygreif is a sealed exhibition room visible in its entirety from the exterior. In its focus on young artists the space acts as a counterpoint to the ongoing exhibition program at the main gallery. The artists usually create site-specific installations for the almost square space which is accessible by appointment only.

OTHER EVENTS
EverythingExhibitions

ROBERTA LIMA: GHOST PLANT

Tuesday, 17. November 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

FRIDA ORUPABO, Untitled, 2019
EverythingExhibitionsFree EntranceSpecial Project

FRIDA ORUPABO

Thursday, 22. October 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Everything

Renate Bergmann

Carlone Contemporary

Thursday, 20. February 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Edi Hila - The sound of the tuba

Wednesday, 18. September 2019Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Lawrence Abu Hamdan

Green Coconuts and Other Inadmissible Evidence

Tuesday, 8. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Till Megerle

To be kind

Tuesday, 8. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

EverythingExhibitionsGuided Tour

Curators tour with Sophie Haslinger and Verena Kaspar-Eisert

After Us, the Flood

Wednesday, 10. February 2021Saturday, 9. January 2021 17:00

Exhibitions

CATFISH

Wednesday, 9. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

EverythingExhibitions

After Us, the Flood

Wednesday, 16. September 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Having Lived - Ingeborg Strobl

Friday, 6. March 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

MEMORY FOAM

Saturday, 12. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

My Generation - The Jablonka Collection

Friday, 2. October 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Fernando Bryce
EverythingExhibitionsFree EntranceEröffnungSpecial Project

DAS PARADIES IM STILLEN OZEAN

THE MELANCHOLY PARADISE IN THE DEAFENING OCEAN

Tuesday, 9. February 2021Saturday, 9. January 2021

ExhibitionsFree Entrance

Abiona Esther Ojo & Huda Takriti. Weaving Truths, Untangling Fictions

Thursday, 10. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Evil Emperors

An Exhibition in the coin collection

Tuesday, 12. November 2019Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Andy Warhol Exhibits

Friday, 25. September 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Defrosting the Icebox

Friday, 25. September 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Adolf Loos: Private Houses

Tuesday, 8. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

100 best posters 19

GERMANY AUSTRIA SWITZERLAND

Tuesday, 8. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

cats, dogs and other pieces

Wednesday, 9. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Stories of Traumatic Pasts

Counter-Archives for Future Memories

Thursday, 8. October 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

EverythingExhibitionsEröffnungSpecial Project

Preview: When Gesture Becomes Event

With the performance: Sonny by Nataša Živković

Tuesday, 8. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021 17:30

Exhibitions

INSPIRATIONAL BEETHOVEN

A Symphony in Pictures from Vienna 1900

Tuesday, 8. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

EMIL PIRCHAN

Visual Revolution

Tuesday, 8. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

BOLD AND FREE

Tuesday, 8. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Hugo Canoilas. On the extremes of good and evil

Tuesday, 8. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Želimir Žilnik. Shadow Citizens

Thursday, 24. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

EverythingExhibitions

Maja Vukoje

On the Edge

Thursday, 12. November 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

EverythingExhibitions

Land For Us All

Thursday, 19. November 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Faces. The Power of the Human Visage

Wednesday, 12. February 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

Fragile Creation

Thursday, 1. October 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Exhibitions

The Essl Collection

Monday, 7. December 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Everything

Ongoing Permanent Collection

Wednesday, 1. July 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Everything

a_show

Permanent exhibition

Wednesday, 1. January 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Everything

Masterpieces of Modernist Art.

The Batliner Collection

Wednesday, 1. July 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

EverythingExhibitions

Hidden Thoughts of A Visual Nature

Wednesday, 23. September 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

EverythingExhibitions

PERMANENT COLLECTION VIENNA 1900

Design/Arts and Crafts 1890–1938

Wednesday, 1. July 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Vienna Art WeekNews

FRIDA ORUPABO

Ausstellung

Frida ORUPABO, Untitled, 2019, Courtesy Galerie Nordenhake, Berlin, Photo: Gerhard Kassner, Berlin

Date and time

22/10/20209/01/2021

FRIDA ORUPABO geboren 1986 in Sarpsborg, Norwegen
lebt und arbeitet in Oslo

Der öffentlich-künstlerische Werdegang Frida Orupabos entwickelte sich aus der digitalen Welt der Algorithmen: Sie arbeitet als Sozialarbeiterin für Sexarbeiterinnen und Opfer von Zwangsprostitution als Arthur Jafa vor drei Jahren auf ihren Instagram-Account @nemiepeba stößt. Es ist keine bequeme Ästhetik, der sich Orupabos Feed bedient und die sie 2019 schließlich bis zur Venedig Biennale führen soll, sondern eine unbarmherzige Auseinandersetzung mit omnipräsenten historischen und gleichzeitig gegenwärtigen soziologischen Problematiken: Gender, Rassismus, Post-Kolonialismus, Gewalt, Identität. Seit 2013 sammelt die norwegisch-nigerianische Künstlerin quasi archivarisch authentische, populärmedial verbreitete Bildzeugnisse, darunter fotografische und filmische Aufnahmen kolonialer Gewalt und Frauenbilder. Die bildgebenden Quellen sind facettenreich, sie implizieren einen ewigen Fluss Normen zu etablieren und sie gleichzeitig wieder zu verabschieden. Orupabo dekodiert diese Ambiguität in ihrem künstlerischen Schaffen und hinterfragt von Kunstgeschichte, Wissenschaft, Popkultur und Kolonialismus konstruierte Existenzbilder, nicht ohne gleichzeitig andere zu evozieren. Sie integriert Fremd- in Selbstbild und widmet sich ihrer eigenen Herkunft genauso wie dem moralisch-ethischen Versagen der Menschheit.

Wir sehen ein Huhn an die Wand des Ausstellungsraums montiert, unabhängig von seinem Lebendigkeitsstatus durch Papierklammern beweglich gemacht. Es ist Sinnbild für Rituale und Nahrung, dem unmittelbaren Bezugssystem der Menschheit entnommen, die es seit jeher gewohnt ist, ohne Bedenken Lebensformen zu unterwerfen und für das Eigenwohl zu nutzen. Dieser hierarchische Zwang macht auch vor Angehörigen der eigenen Spezies nicht Halt. Es sind meist solche monochromen Arbeiten, denen Frida Orupabo uns in Ausstellungsräumen aussetzt. Der völlige Farbentzug basiert dabei nicht nur auf Farblosigkeit des Archivmaterials oder ästhetischer Zweckmäßigkeit, sondern wird gezielt eingesetzt, um Grundessenzen und Intensitäten zu filtern und manipulieren. In einer sechsteiligen Foto-Arbeit lenkt die Künstlerin den Blick von abstrakt anmutenden Mustern aus der Natur hin zur schonungslosen Dokumentation einer Injektion, die im Dialog mit den visuell und geistig milden Abstraktionen noch konkreter erscheint. Wir fühlen uns daran erinnert, dass die Menschheit sich nur scheinbar von der Natur emanzipiert hat, sie immer noch durch Unbezwingbares wie Krankheiten beherrscht. Der humane Bewältigungsmechanismus für diese Entmächtigung ist seit Anbeginn die Religion: die zwischen Mensch und Natur vermittelnde Frage „jesus?“ erinnert nicht zuletzt an die Zwangschristianisierung in weiten Teilen der Kolonialgebiete.

Neben schwarz/weiß kommt es zu wirkungsträchtigen Farbigkeiten wie einem intensiven Rot – eine kompromisslose, aktive Farbe, die sowohl Sujets der Werke als auch die ihnen inhärente Performativität zusätzlich aktiviert. Sie begleitet uns durch den gesamten Raum und führt zur großformatigen Fotografie eines Mannes, ins Negative revidiert. Er lächelt uns mit gezogenem Hut freundlich zu und man kommt nicht umhin sich zu fragen, was wohl seine Geschichte sein mag. Auch ohne Antwort fühlt man sich verbunden, erlebt die von Orupabo mehrfach aufgegriffene Suche nach dem Verhältnis fremder und eigener Identität. Dass dieses Verhältnis in vielen Fällen kein angenehmes ist, zeigt eine am Boden installierte Videoarbeit: Man wird durch die Platzierung gezwungen, auf die dargestellte Gruppe hinabzublicken. Diese metaphorische Inszenierung von Perspektive strapaziert das Gewissen, man wird als unfreiwilliger Akteur Protagonist einer unausweichlichen Diskriminierungssituation.

In ihren Werken eröffnet Orupabo quasi unerzählte, doch allgegenwärtige Narrative, die verschiedene Zeit- und Realitätsdimensionen miteinander vereinen. Diese Multidimensionalität basiert nicht nur auf dem angeeigneten Bildmaterial, vielmehr konstituieren Orupabos Arbeiten eine Eigenzeit, die die konsensuelle Wahrnehmung betrifft. Sie zwingen zum Hinsehen und retournieren dasselbe meist unmissverständlich, schreiben sich irreversibel dem Gedächtnis ein und greifen selbst nach dem kollektiven (Un-)Bewussten. Sie lösen unabhängig vom persönlichen soziokulturellen Hintergrund individuell elektrisierende, emotionale Assoziationsketten aus, deren Summe sich letztlich in den Arbeiten zu einer – dem Internet nicht unähnlichen – unendlichen Rezeptionsplattform zusammenfügt. Frida Orupabos Werk ist ein zeitloses, sich wandelndes, das ephemer Ausstellungsräume, aber permanent Gedankenwelten bespielt.
(Teresa Kamencek, 2020)

LOCATION

Margaretenstraße 5, 1040 Wien

http://koenig2.at/

+43 1 5857470

koenig2@christinekoeniggalerie.at

KOENIG2 by_robbygreif

Christine König Galerie wurde 1989 in Wien gegründet. Die Galerie repräsentiert eine Vielzahl internationaler, etablierter Künstler und arbeitet gleichzeitig mit einer dezidiert jüngeren, aufstrebenden Generation. Das Programm der Galerie und die Auswahl der Künstler orientiert sich stark an Themen, die für Christine König relevant sind: Politik und Aktivismus, Feminismus, Literatur, aber auch postkonzeptuelle Ansätze. Kunst ist in den letzten Jahrzehnten zum dominanten kulturellen Handlungs- und Diskursfeld geworden. Mehr als über Popmusik, Literatur oder Film kann über bildende Kunst Verständnis für und Einsicht in gesellschaftspolitische und kulturelle Veränderungsprozesse gewonnen werden.

KOENIG2 by_robbygreif ist seit 2017 der neue Projektraum – fokussiert auf junge und experimentelle Positionen, die das Programm der nahe gelegenen Galerie ergänzen. Die Ausstellungen in KOENIG2 sind nur nach Vereinbarung geöffnet, aber 24 Stunden beleuchtet und von außen einsehbar.

OTHER EVENTS
Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt frei

Marie Lund

The Apartment

Friday, 9. October 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt frei

Gaylen Gerber

Friday, 9. October 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt frei

Refinery

Saturday, 10. October 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021 12:00

Ausstellung

Marcello Farabegoli präsentiert: NATALIA GUROVA – CASINO

Sunday, 15. November 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

AusstellungEintritt frei

DAVID MALJKOVIĆ

Friday, 16. October 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Katarina Spielmann

Sunday, 18. October 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateOnlineSpecial Event

Queer body against____________

kuratiert von #FFBF00 (Victoria Dejaco und Julia Frank)

Wednesday, 18. November 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Ral 9006, 2019
Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEröffnungLectureSpecial EventTalk

LEOPOLD KESSLER

RAL 9006

Thursday, 5. November 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021 15:00

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt freiEröffnung

Hans Weigand

Tales from the End of the Road

Friday, 6. November 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Katharina Höglinger Zunge verlieren (losing tongue)

Thursday, 29. October 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

ALONA RODEH The Lonely Gatekeeper, 2020 Injket print, Aluminium, Industriefarbe, MDF, LED Lichter 21 x 32 x 8 cm Edition 3 + 1 AP Courtesy Christine König Galerie, Wien und die Künstlerin
Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt freiEröffnungSpecial Event

ALONA RODEH | The Long Stretch

Friday, 9. October 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021 11:00

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt frei

Christian Eisenberger

SEHN SIE TIEF 9975 - 15432 – 32718

Friday, 6. November 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Josef Trattner: Inside Out

Friday, 28. February 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

MISFITTING TOGETHER

Serielle Formationen der Pop Art, Minimal Art und Conceptual Art

Wednesday, 1. July 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungGuided Tour

Kuratorinnenführung mit Sophie Haslinger und Verena Kaspar-Eisert

Nach uns die Sintflut

Tuesday, 12. January 2021Saturday, 9. January 2021 18:00

Daniel Knorr Detail
Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt frei

Daniel Knorr

Canvas Sculptures

Monday, 16. November 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Ausstellung

Beethoven bewegt

Tuesday, 29. September 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt frei

ROBERTA LIMA: GHOST PLANT

Tuesday, 17. November 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle Programmformate

Renate Bertlmann

Carlone Contemporary

Thursday, 20. February 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungGuided Tour

Kuratorinnenführung mit Sophie Haslinger und Verena Kaspar-Eisert

Nach uns die Sintflut

Wednesday, 10. February 2021Saturday, 9. January 2021 17:00

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Nach uns die Sintflut

Wednesday, 16. September 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Ausstellung

Böse Kaiser

Eine Ausstellung des Münzkabinetts

Tuesday, 12. November 2019Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Maja Vukoje

Auf Kante

Thursday, 12. November 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle Programmformate

Dauerausstellung Schausammlung

Wednesday, 1. July 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle Programmformate

a_schau

Dauerausstellung

Wednesday, 1. January 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle Programmformate

Meisterwerke der Moderne

Die Sammlung Batliner

Wednesday, 1. July 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

MAK SCHAUSAMMLUNG WIEN 1900

Design / Kunstgewerbe 1890-1938

Wednesday, 1. July 2020Saturday, 9. January 2021