REBECCA BRODSKIS | The Passengers

Alle Programmformate Ausstellung Eintritt frei Eröffnung

REBECCA BRODSKIS | The Passengers

Date and time

7/07/202227/08/2022

“I am a Passenger” is a line from the song by Iggy Pop of the same name. “And I ride, and I ride.” Through the dark corners of the city and below the stars that appear in the empty sky. “You know it looks so good tonight.” It actually does look good, when Rebecca Brodskis seeks to transform the status of being a passenger in the underground into a more permanent state of being. She portrays individuals, yet also couples and small groups of figures.

They are primarily young faces, also of black people or women wearing headscarves. Mostly depicted en face, but also once rotating like crazy around the pole in the train compartment – a sort of metaphysical ‘pole dance’ in the presence of madness. Revealingly, this picture is titled, “The light at the end of the tunnel” (2022). The fact that the windows of the supposed train compartment sometimes look like barred light openings in a prison brings another dimension into play – these passengers might possibly not be travelling voluntarily.

Rebecca Brodskis, born in Paris in 1988, spent her childhood between France and Morocco in a type of permanent migratory condition that bequeathed her a multitude of milieus and languages, yet also situations of lighting and excitements of colour which the trained European normally first comes to know as a traveller in adulthood. In her colour palette, carefully graded tones of yellow dominate, contrasted with green, orange and blue flecks of colour – mostly in sharply coloristic delimitation. Rebecca Brodskis describes herself as a figurative painter, nevertheless ‘with a twist’. The artistic reference points reveal themselves immediately as well: Christian Schad, Otto Dix, and in general the Neue Sachlichkeit of the 1920s. Nevertheless, filtered through a post-colonial, post-millennial sensitivity that harks back to certain creative elements, yet imparts a completely new context to them. (...)

LOCATION

Margaretenstraße 5, 1040 Wien

http://koenig2.at/

+43 1 5857470

koenig2@christinekoeniggalerie.at

KOENIG2 by_robbygreif

Christine König Galerie was founded in 1989 in Vienna. The gallery represents a variety of internationally recognized artists and works simultaneously with a decidedly younger generation of upcoming artists. The gallery’s program and its selection of the artists reflects the central concerns of Christine König: Politics and activism, feminism, literature, as well as post-conceptual approaches.
In the last decades art has become a dominant field of action and discourse. Visual arts can help develop an understanding for socio-political and cultural processes of change. In a highly stimulating and productive climate, galleries have assumed the role of intermediaries, making a preliminary selection and using their intellectual resources in a responsible way to back and promote certain positions and artists vis-à-vis collectors.

KOENIG2 by_robbygreif is a sealed exhibition room visible in its entirety from the exterior. In its focus on young artists the space acts as a counterpoint to the ongoing exhibition program at the main gallery. The artists usually create site-specific installations for the almost square space which is accessible by appointment only.

OTHER EVENTS
Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

How thick is the layer of butter on your bread?

Notes on class and capital

Wednesday, 13. July 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

IN-SIGHT: Georg Eisler

Tracing Life

Friday, 8. April 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

1503. Members exhibition

Thursday, 23. June 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

OPEN

Friday, 3. June 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Teach Nature

Wednesday, 15. June 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Speculative Fiction

Saturday, 9. July 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Cranach the Untamed

The Early Years in Viena

Tuesday, 21. June 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt frei

MARIA PINIŃSKA-BEREŚ. Meadow of Your Body

curated by Jarosław Suchan

Friday, 9. September 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt frei

Sensory Tales

curated by Rita Kálmán & Lívia Páldi

Tuesday, 13. September 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

The Purloined Masterpiece

Images as Time Machines

Friday, 8. April 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Francesco Clemente

Thursday, 7. July 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Collaborations

Saturday, 2. July 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Jean-Frédéric Schnyder | The Otolith Group | Patricia L. Boyd

Saturday, 19. November 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

mixed up with others before we even begin

Saturday, 26. November 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Oceans. Collections. Reflections.

George Nuku

Thursday, 23. June 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

UNSEEN PLACES. Gregor Sailer

Thursday, 15. September 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Avant-Garde and the Contemporary

The Belvedere Collection from Lassnig to Knebl

Wednesday, 15. September 2021Saturday, 27. August 2022

REBECCA BRODSKIS | The Passengers

Alle Programmformate Ausstellung Eintritt frei Eröffnung

REBECCA BRODSKIS | The Passengers

Date and time

7/07/202227/08/2022

„I am a Passenger“ heißt es im gleichnamigen Song von Iggy Pop. „And I ride, and I ride.“ Durch die dunklen Ecken der Stadt und unter den Sternen, die sich am hohlen Himmel zeigen. „You know it looks so good tonight.“ Es sieht tatsächlich gut aus, wenn Rebecca Brodskis das Passagere des Passagiersdaseins in der U-Bahn in einen dauerhafteren Seinszustand zu transformieren trachtet. Sie porträtiert Einzelmenschen, aber auch Paare und kleine Figurengruppen.

Es sind überwiegend junge Gesichter, auch von schwarzen Menschen oder von Frauen mit Kopftuch. Meist schlicht en face abgebildet, einmal aber auch wie crazy um die Stange in der Fahrgastkabine rotierend – eine Art metaphysischer Pole Dance im Angesicht des Wahnsinns. Bezeichnenderweise heißt dieses Bild: „The light at the end of the tunnel” (2022). Dass die Fenster des vermeintlichen U-Bahn-Waggons manchmal aussehen wie die vergitterten Lichtöffnungen in einem Gefängnis, bringt eine zusätzliche Dimension ins Spiel – diese Passagiere könnten womöglich keine freiwilligen sein.

Rebecca Brodskis, geboren 1988 in Paris, verbrachte ihre Kindheit zwischen Frankreich und Marokko in einer Art von dauermigratorischem Zustand, der sie einer Vielzahl von Milieus und Sprachen, aber auch Lichtsituationen und Farberregungen aussetzte, die der gelernte Europäer üblicherweise erst als Reisender im Erwachsenenalter kennenlernt. In ihrer Farbpalette dominieren sorgfältig abgestufte Gelbtöne, die durch grüne, orange und blaue Farbflecken kontrastiert werden – meist in scharfer koloristischer Abgrenzung. Rebecca Brodskis bezeichnet sich selber als figurative Malerin, allerdings ´with a twist`, also mit einer leichten Drehung. Auch die künstlerischen Bezugspunkte erschliessen sich unmittelbar: Christian Schad, Otto Dix und ganz allgemein die Neue Sachlichkeit der 1920er Jahre. Allerdings gefiltert durch eine postkoloniale, postmillennale Sensitivität, die auf gewisse gestalterische Elemente zurückgreift, ihnen aber einen völlig neuen Kontext verleiht. Die Retour a l`ordre, die nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg wieder zum Gegenstand, zu einem klaren Bildkonzept und einer objektivierenden Darstellungsweise zurückführte, kann in der Epoche des Post-Everything kein allgemeines Bildprogramm mehr sein, sondern lediglich eine individuelle Aneignungsform dessen, was in der Welt der Fall ist.

Rebecca Brodskis hat diesen Weg gewählt, um einerseits an bestimmte Darstellungstraditionen des globalen Südens anzuschließen und andererseits ihrer Vorstellung von der menschlichen Figur als endlose Landschaft gestalterische Konturen zu verleihen. „Ich versuche in meinen Bildern Eindrücke von Momenten aus dem Alltagsleben zu verarbeiten.“ sagt die Künstlerin. „Ich mag die Idee, dass Kunst diesen Zwischenraum / diese Interzone markiert, wo alles möglich ist. Die Realität verbindet sich mit der Imagination und öffnet bewusst oder unbewusst die Pforten für eine tiefere Introspektion.“

Thomas Miessgang, 2022

LOCATION

Margaretenstraße 5, 1040 Wien

http://koenig2.at/

+43 1 5857470

koenig2@christinekoeniggalerie.at

KOENIG2 by_robbygreif

Christine König Galerie wurde 1989 in Wien gegründet. Die Galerie repräsentiert eine Vielzahl internationaler, etablierter Künstler und arbeitet gleichzeitig mit einer dezidiert jüngeren, aufstrebenden Generation. Das Programm der Galerie und die Auswahl der Künstler orientiert sich stark an Themen, die für Christine König relevant sind: Politik und Aktivismus, Feminismus, Literatur, aber auch postkonzeptuelle Ansätze. Kunst ist in den letzten Jahrzehnten zum dominanten kulturellen Handlungs- und Diskursfeld geworden. Mehr als über Popmusik, Literatur oder Film kann über bildende Kunst Verständnis für und Einsicht in gesellschaftspolitische und kulturelle Veränderungsprozesse gewonnen werden.

KOENIG2 by_robbygreif ist seit 2017 der neue Projektraum – fokussiert auf junge und experimentelle Positionen, die das Programm der nahe gelegenen Galerie ergänzen. Die Ausstellungen in KOENIG2 sind nur nach Vereinbarung geöffnet, aber 24 Stunden beleuchtet und von außen einsehbar.

OTHER EVENTS
Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

How thick is the layer of butter on your bread?

Notes on class and capital

Wednesday, 13. July 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

IM BLICK: Georg Eisler

Spurensicherung

Friday, 8. April 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

1503. Mitgliederausstellung

Thursday, 23. June 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

OPEN

Friday, 3. June 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Teach Nature

Wednesday, 15. June 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Speculative Fiction

Saturday, 9. July 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Cranach der Wilde

Die Anfänge in Wien

Tuesday, 21. June 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt frei

MARIA PINIŃSKA-BEREŚ. Meadow of Your Body

curated by Jarosław Suchan

Friday, 9. September 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellungEintritt frei

Sensory Tales

curated by Rita Kálmán & Lívia Páldi

Tuesday, 13. September 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Das entwendete Meisterwerk

Bilder als Zeitmaschinen

Friday, 8. April 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Francesco Clemente

Thursday, 7. July 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Kollaborationen

Saturday, 2. July 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Jean-Frédéric Schnyder | The Otolith Group | Patricia L. Boyd

Saturday, 19. November 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

mixed up with others before we even begin

Saturday, 26. November 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Oceans. Collections. Reflections.

George Nuku

Thursday, 23. June 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

UNSEEN PLACES. Gregor Sailer

Thursday, 15. September 2022Saturday, 27. August 2022

Alle ProgrammformateAusstellung

Avantgarde und Gegenwart

Die Sammlung Belvedere von Lassnig bis Knebl

Wednesday, 15. September 2021Saturday, 27. August 2022