Vienna Art WeekVienna Art Week 2019
VIENNA ART WEEK 2019

VIENNA ART WEEK 2019

Vienna will be laser-focused on art between 15 and 22 November 2019, when Vienna Art Week shifts attention to the city’s vivid art scene. In cooperation with small and big players in Vienna’s art sector, such as museums, exhibition halls, art universities, galleries and independent art spaces, it once again offers a mind-blowing program of events including a plethora of exhibition openings, exhibition tours, panels, lectures, guided tours, performances, and studio visits. With fake news in its heyday, Vienna Art Week 2019 seeks the truth in art under the motto “Making Truth.”

The art week kicks off with two(!) Open Studio Days on Saturday, 16 November, and Sunday, 17 November. Some 150 artists will open their studios to visitors, offering a glimpse into their art practice and plenty of opportunity for inspiring debate. One highlight is the MAKING TRUTH exhibition circuit, with 14 selected studios spread across the city interconnecting as individual rooms of one big exhibition space. Featured artists will discuss their work as part of Open Studio Days in talks coordinated and arranged in such a way that visitors can embark on a talk tour. Open Studio Days will be rounded off with a line-up on Sunday featuring a lecture by renowned sociologist Eva Illouz as a highlight.

The MAKING TRUTH line-up on Friday, 22 November, marks the end of the art week as fascinating figures such as artists Santiago Sierra, Regina José Galindo and Issa Touma, as well as Cesy Leonard from the art activist group Center for Political Beauty and Sarah Nankivell of Forensic Architecture present their personal views on the subject of truth.

Join us on our quest for truth in art! Your visit to Vienna’s art scene is sure to be an exciting one.

Vienna Art WeekVienna Art Week 2019
VIENNA ART WEEK 2019

VIENNA ART WEEK 2019

Von 15. bis 22. November 2019 dreht sich in Wien wieder alles um die Kunst: Die Vienna Art Week rückt das umfassende Kunstgeschehen der Stadt ins Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit. Gemeinsam mit den großen und kleineren Playern der Wiener Kunstszene, den Museen, Ausstellungshäusern, Kunstuniversitäten, Galerien und unabhängigen Kunsträumen bietet sie einmal mehr ein fulminantes Veranstaltungsprogramm und einen abwechslungsreichen Mix aus Ausstellungseröffnungen und -rundgängen, Diskussionen und Lectures, Führungen und Performances, Atelierbesuchen und vielem mehr. In Zeiten, in denen Fake News Hochkonjunktur haben, spürt die Vienna Art Week 2019 unter dem Motto „Making Truth“ der Wahrheit in der Kunst nach.

Den Auftakt der Kunstwoche machen – nunmehr an zwei Tagen – die Open Studio Days am Samstag, 16. November, und Sonntag, 17. November. Rund 150 Künstlerinnen und Künstler halten ihre Ateliers für Besucherinnen und Besucher offen und bieten Einblicke in die Kunstproduktion sowie die Möglichkeit für inspirierende Gespräche. Ein besonderes Highlight ist der MAKING TRUTH Exhibition Parcours: 14 über die Stadt verteilte ausgewählte Ateliers werden zu den Räumen einer Ausstellung verbunden. Mit den dort schaffenden Künstlerinnen und Künstlern finden an den Open Studio Days Talks statt, deren Zeiten so abgestimmt sind, dass sie sich zu einem Talk-Rundgang aneinanderreihen lassen. Einen spannenden Abschluss finden die Open Studio Days am Sonntag beim Open Studio Days Line-up. Dessen Programmhöhepunkt: eine Lecture der Soziologin Eva Illouz.

Den Abschluss der Kunstwoche markiert das Line-up MAKING TRUTH am Freitag, 22. November. Spannende Persönlichkeiten überraschen mit ihren persönlichen Beiträgen zur Wahrheit, unter ihnen die Kunstschaffenden Santiago Sierra, Regina José Galindo und Issa Touma, Cesy Leonard als Vertreterin des kunstaktivistischen Zentrums für Politische Schönheit und Sarah Nankivell von Forensic Architecture.

Begleiten Sie uns auf der Suche nach der Wahrheit in der Kunst! Wir wünschen Ihnen inspirierende Stunden in der Kunststadt Wien.