Vienna Art WeekVienna Art Week 2020
VIENNA ART WEEK 2020

VIENNA ART WEEK 2020

rom 13 to 20 November 2020, Vienna will once again be buzzing with art. VIENNA ART WEEK remains an important partner for the city’s artists in this exceptional year, offering a tightly packed event program (adapted to circumstances) together with Vienna’s big and small art players, which include museums, exhibition halls, art universities, galleries, independent art spaces and, of course, artists. A nice blend of exhibition tours, talks, guided tours, performances, debates, lectures, etc. is enriched with numerous almost private events. This year’s theme, “LIVING RITUALS,” is about getting back to basics, as 2020 has shown that rituals promote social cohesion and structure everyday life.

VIENNA ART WEEK 2020 will be kicked off by the much-loved Open Studio Days on two consecutive days – Saturday, 14 Nov., and Sunday, 15 Nov. On this special weekend, about 100 jury-picked artists will welcome visitors to their studios all over Vienna – a unique opportunity to take a look behind the scenes of art production, to meet inspiring people, and engage in animated conversation. Numerous Open Studio Days Walking Tours will take visitors to studios. Beyond Open Studio Days, everyone is welcome from Monday, 16 Nov., to Friday, 20 Nov., to participate in the new Art Melange program and visit artist studios to engage in afternoon conversations about art and other pressing issues.

On Saturday, 14 Nov., and Sunday, 15 Nov., the curated LIVING RITUALS Exhibition Parcours pays a visit to seven selected studios of artists presenting new works themed on the art week’s motto and discussing them in the context of curators’ talks. This tour of artistic approaches to the ritual will include stopovers at the studios of Heinrich Dunst, Klaus Mosettig, Elisabeth von Samsonow, Robert Schaberl, ManfreDu Schu, Borjana Ventzislavova, and the “Jugend am Werk Sozial:Raum” artists Suzanne Dixon, Susanne Kuzma and Ingrid Lechner.

 

House of Rituals is another VIENNA ART WEEK highlight. For a week, an abandoned single-family home in the district of Simmering will turn into a hotspot of art, as the following artists revive old and new rituals: Marina Abramović, Vito Acconci, Scott Clifford Evans, Thomas Gänszler, Les Tardes Goldscheyder, Regina José Galindo, Hanakam & Schuller, Oliver Hangl, Emiko Kasahara, Mike Kelley, Iwajla Klinke, Paul McCarthy, Rudolf Molacek, Hermann Nitsch, Elisabeth von Samsonow, Maria Serebriakova, Nives Widauer, Erwin Wurm, and Mia Zabelka.

The art week is sure to be an inspiring one!
Martin Böhm (President of Art Cluster Vienna)
Robert Punkenhofer (Artistic Director of VIENNA ART WEEK)

Vienna Art WeekVienna Art Week 2020
VIENNA ART WEEK 2020

VIENNA ART WEEK 2020

Von 13. bis 20. November 2020 dreht sich in Wien wieder alles um die Kunst: Die VIENNA ART WEEK bleibt auch in diesem Ausnahmejahr ein wichtiger Partner für die Kunstschaffenden dieser Stadt. Gemeinsam mit den großen und kleineren Playern der Wiener Kunstszene, den Museen, Ausstellungshäusern, Kunstuniversitäten, Galerien, unabhängigen Kunsträumen und natürlich der Künstlerschaft bietet sie – den Umständen gemäß – ein konzentriertes Veranstaltungsprogramm. Der Mix aus Ausstellungsrundgängen, Talks, geführten Touren, Diskussionen und Lectures, Performances u. v. m. wird durch zahlreiche Veranstaltungen im nahezu privaten Rahmen erweitert. Zum Veranstaltungsprogramm geht es hier: www.viennaartweek.at/de/vienna-art-week-2020/programm/

Das diesjährige Motto der VIENNA ART WEEK lautet LIVING RITUALS und lädt zur Konzentration auf das Wesentliche ein. Im Jahr 2020 wird einmal mehr deutlich, wie sehr Rituale dem sozialen Zusammenhalt dienen und unserem Alltag Struktur geben.

Auftakt und Herzstück der VIENNA ART WEEK 2020 sind die Open Studio Days, die erneut zweitägig am Samstag, 14., und Sonntag, 15. November, stattfinden. Rund 100 von einer Jury ausgewählte Künstlerinnen und Künstler halten ihre Ateliers in ganz Wien für Besucherinnen und Besucher offen. Blicke hinter die Kulissen künstlerischen Schaffens, inspirierende Begegnungen und Gespräche machen das Wochenende zu einem Erlebnis der Extraklasse. Zahlreiche Open Studio Days Walking Tours bieten die Möglichkeit, sich gemeinsam auf den Weg zu den Ateliers zu machen. Das neue Programmformat Art Melange lädt – über die Open Studio Days hinaus – von Montag, 16., bis Freitag, 20. November, jeden Nachmittag zum Gespräch über Kunst und mehr in Ateliers von Künstlerinnen und Künstlern.

Ein kuratierter Ausstellungspfad, der LIVING RITUALS Exhibition Parcours, führt am Samstag, 14., und Sonntag, 15. November, zu sieben ausgewählten Ateliers, in denen Künstlerinnen und Künstler Arbeiten zum Motto der Kunstwoche zeigen und im Rahmen von Kuratoren-Talks besprechen. Der Parcours rund um die künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit Ritualen verbindet die Ateliers von Heinrich Dunst, Klaus Mosettig, Elisabeth von Samsonow, Robert Schaberl, ManfreDu Schu, Borjana Ventzislavova sowie den „Jugend-am-Werk-Sozial:Raum“-Künstlerinnen Suzanne Dixon, Susanne Kuzma und Ingrid Lechner zu einem Rundkurs der Rituale.

Ein weiteres Highlight setzt die VIENNA ART WEEK mit dem House of Rituals. Für die Dauer einer Woche verwandelt sich ein verlassenes Einfamilienhaus in Simmering zum Ausstellungs-Hotspot: Die Künstlerinnen und Künstler Marina Abramović, Vito Acconci, Paul Mc Carthy, Scott Clifford Evans, Thomas Gänszler, Les Tardes Goldscheyder, Regina José Galindo, Hanakam & Schuller, Oliver Hangl, Emiko Kasahara, Mike Kelley, Iwajla Klinke, Paul Mc Carthy, Rudolf Molacek, Hermann Nitsch, Elisabeth von Samsonow, Maria Serebriakova, Nives Widauer, Erwin Wurm und Mia Zabelka erwecken neue und alte Rituale zum Leben.

Wir wünschen Ihnen eine inspirierende Woche der Kunst!

Martin Böhm (Präsident Art Cluster Vienna)
Robert Punkenhofer (Künstlerischer Leiter VIENNA ART WEEK)