Vienna Art WeekNews

LIVING RITUALS – EXHIBITION PARCOURS

A tour through seven selected studios

A jury has selected seven studios from the 100 artists participating in the Open Studio Days, in which artists have explored the theme of “Living Rituals”.  Take an online tour of the curated studio presentations and read about the artists’ working methods and world of thought. Photographer Sandro Zanzinger provides rare glimpses into artistic creative spaces.

 

During the Vienna Art Week online talks with the artists of the LIVING RITUALS Exhbition Parcours took place, which can be viewed via the direct links.

Studio Elisabeth von Samsonow © Sandro Zanzinger

ELIZABETH VON SAMSONOW

 

“For me, rituals are the great magical arrangements of action, the metaphysics of the body. Cultural studies has declared all sorts of things to be ritual – which it is welcome to do – but ritual has disappeared in these grandiose generalizations. Is brushing one’s teeth a ritual? Rather not. The increasingly efficient paced of the modern human’s everyday life is permeated more by conditioning habits than by rituals. The space of ritual is always magical, insofar as it creates, orders, recognizes, intervenes in the world order. Thus, to the ritual always belongs a world view or a type of consciousness and in any case the absolute identification of the ritualist with the whole world. The ritualist acts as the world. The ritual crisis of the second half of the twentieth century has not only been a crisis of the magical type of consciousness belonging to the ritual, but also marks the end of the highly autonomizing function of the ritual: the ritualist, of course, loosely surpass the most powerful politicians in their claims of effectiveness, making themselves suspect. No wonder that especially the feminists of the first wave in the seventies focused on magic and ritual as a provocative practice (and in addition – besides – presented intelligent analyses of their “magical” politics of consciousness). Rituals, moreover, are forms of action that stabilize and are stabilized through repetition (to the point of losing the original intention), which naturally recommends the so-called everyday rituals as candidates for the topic, even if these lack the world-ordering dimension (they only order the little person who performs its daily portion of compulsory action). A kiss on the hand is not yet a ritual, but only a habitual formula. The upright modern magic prohibition does not make it easy for the ritual. In any case, art is the level most capable of compensating for the loss of ritual, or even profiting from the Western decay of ritual. It not infrequently operates on the liminal level of ritual invention, often manufacturing rituals at the expense of their constitutive repetition (in the sense of the highly charged “one-time-action”). The discussion on the nature of performance does not dwell on the “reenactment” of important performances that define performance history for no reason. I hope that the artistic appropriation of the decaying energy of ritual and the practice that emerge and emerged from it will have a social impact on the autonomization of the subject that can be organized through action and attitude.”

Watch the LIVING RITUALS Talk with Elisabeth Samsonow

Studio Heinrich Dunst © Sandro Zanzinger

HEINRICH DUNST

 

Heinrich Dunst combines elements of language, image and sculpture in his works and presents their relationship as medial interfaces. In his “meta-linguistic” spatial interventions and performances, he negotiates the gap between the visible and the sayable, the untranslatability of one form into another, and the contextuality of spatial presentations. The roots of his conceptual approach lie in Concrete Poetry in the Viennese scene of the 1980s with its claim to extend abstract painting into the exhibition space, and also in those artistic positions that, like Marcel Broodthaers, investigate the perceptual systems of word and image. Dunst gives these questions a new topicality by questioning the invoked references in their unambiguousness, ultimately revealing the presuppositions inherent in art. The artist states:

“If the rituals of everyday life, like cans of food, empty themselves incessantly and almost irreversibly in their directed consumption, then they need a double in this ritual: a form that mirrors them. the abstract forms in my works are the volumes for this opposite. For these forms of everyday life. A double. “The tin can becomes stupid, and the abstraction is smart. Perspective reversal: the abstraction becomes stupid, the tin can is clever,” according to Peter Weibel.

The language shift, on the other hand, thematizes this progression and its reversal on a word-linguistic level: these are my performances. The word criticizes the word, through the performative shift of language use. language addresses the emptied ritual of speaking itself.”

Watch the LIVING RITUALS Talk with Heinrich Dunst 

Studio Robert Schaberl © Sandro Zanzinger

ROBERT SCHABERL

 

Auratic images in the literal sense. Central forms, glistening discs that oscillate between punctual concentration in the center and expansion, light reflections and pulsating circular surfaces in infinite color variations, subtle color transitions, sometimes contrasts, but also studies in black. Art of oscillation, which achieves its maximum emphasis in large format and seeks balance in the seriality of medium and small formats. Colored light and the change of the so-called appearance color, that is, the color as the viewer perceives it, is the focus of the work of Robert Schaberl. The spectrum he explores as an Aesthetic Researcher ranges from color as a material to the modulation of microprismatic pigments by the incidence of light. Schaberl creates with his abstract works on canvas and paper, which parry the central perspective by central forms, which are always, barely perceptibly moved from the exact center, painterly spaces of experience, which give the viewer a sensual experience. Depending on the perspective, it appears new.

The repetition of everyday work in the studio, the stretching of the canvases, the mixing of the colors as well as the always same working process, the application of paint in wafer-thin layers, the canvas, which the artist sets in rotation with his hand, the brush, with which numerous circles are formed, Schaberl understands as ritual forms of action.

Watch the LIVING RITUALS Talks with Robert Schaberl

Studio Klaus Mosettig © Sandro Zanzinger

KLAUS MOSETTIG

 

The basic concept of Klaus Mosettig’s work is the depiction of time through the repetition of the same work processes: Every day he sets his strokes with pencil, hatches for about nine hours and sharpens his tools for about one hour. Whether abstract art, children’s drawings, self-portraits from the art history, imprints that have inscribed themselves in objects and gained socio-political relevance, Klaus Mosettig subjects his chosen motifs to the same procedure over and over again, translating self-chosen originals onto paper using his specific methodology and incorporating them into an archive of forms. By means of this scanner-like activity, flatly depicted artistic emanations, however different they may be, whether art or non-art, can be read similarly. This act of appropriation and homogenization creates a distance to the depicted through the always identical hatching. Questions of authorship, repetition as a meaning-giving element, the formal search for the most convincing, high-quality “stroke” possible, and transparent art production are at the center of Mosettig’s interest. The always uniform, ritualistic activity allows the artist a meditative state of reflection on his work, which can thus – very slowly – develop further.

Watch the LIVING RITUALS Talk with Klaus Mosettig

Studio Borjana Ventzislavova © Sandro Zanzinger

BORJANA VENTZISLAVOVA

 

Borjana Ventzislavova works in the fields of film/video, photography, installation and performance. She investigates the relationship between reality and fiction in different social and geographical spaces. In her works she analyzes stereotypes, models of representation, traces the effects of dominant power structures and mechanisms of control in society.

Her work is also concerned with the shifting and transgression of cultural boundaries and the psychological dynamics involved, as well as complex processes of translation. In her artistic practice, she often uses participatory approaches to create a platform of reflection and critique. “Borjana Ventzislavova uses the form of ritual to present, without ideological teachings, the possibility of a social reality constituted by a living, unprejudiced encounter. An idea she shares with the anarchist Pyotr Alexeyevich Kropotkin’s concept of love,” writes Boris Manner. For her, rituals are a technique, an instrument of solidarization and symbolic communication, often with sensual and even supersensual effects. She wants to use them to initiate processes of empowerment and healing. Ventzislavova is concerned with the cultivation and sensitization of the self. The ritual in her work stands for an extra-aesthetic truth. She calls for a new ritual consciousness.

Watch the LIVING RITUALS Talk with Borjana Ventzislalova

Studio MandreDu Schu © Sandro Zanzinger

MANFREDU SCHU

 

Be ritual, be fact, advises ManfreDu Schu. He deals with body and language, places of beauty and the materialization of the body. He calls his working language “staged visibility.” For him, rituals are an important basic building block in the creation of identity.

“So the spirit is also always body embodied in our most intimate needs,” he says. “Our mirror is the unconscious body that slowly transforms us on a lifelong quest through the confluence of our own identity and the rituals of the outside. The masquerade, the aroused, and the enchanted ceaselessly map us between dream and reality; both are realities of transformation. The source of artistic action is always events and sensations, the stage of the self that leaves the superficial shell of social norms shaped by society. The power of artistic expression must penetrate beneath the mask to reveal the depth of intimacy in a labyrinth that transcends the conflict between the work of art and the self; it turns deep to the interior, to a theatrical analysis of the personality, where something like a transforming truth dwells. In the rite of the experiment dwells the body as spirit and its driving force of conviction; its laboratory is the inner child, whose artistic goal is change, the discovery of the many facets of the self, where life and its effects point to the future in theatrical form as the anatomy of memory.”

Watch the LIVING RITUAL Talk with ManfreDu Schu

Studio werd:art © Sandro Zanzinger

SUSANNE DIXON

 

Suzanne Dixon (born 1972) is interested in past times and distant epochs. Already as a child she encountered (pre-) historical cultural assets through her mother, who is an archaeologist. In particular, she is fascinated by artifacts that were created for representative purposes. Dixon’s figure paintings refer to Austrian aristocratic dynasties from the Baroque, Rococo and Biedermeier periods as well as to contemporary heads of state and cities. The focus of the colored and felt-tip pen drawings in DIN A4 and A3 formats, which look like display panels in a museum, is on female rulers, their ornamentally decorated robes, accessories, and utensils: this ranges from an electress to a margravine to a backyard Madonna. Mostly her head is crowned. The design of the colorfully patterned dresses is reminiscent of the artist’s small-format embroideries in their detailed execution and precise placement of dots and color areas, which she collected in an artist’s book accompanied by brief comments. They often show small scenes with people and especially animals. Emotional expressions and wishful thinking complement the textile little pictures.

 

 

SUSANNE KUZMA

 

Susanne Kuzma (born 1966) paints landscapes with colored pencils in colors that make you happy. The artist abstracts from photographic models that inspire her, for example by dissolving horizon, meadow and field into stripes, rainbows and colorful checkerboard patterns. The ultimately representational images are constructed from squares, motivic repetitions and geometric shapes. Landscapes, fields of flowers, beaches, ornamental pattern images that emphasize the surface are created. Clouds resemble scribbles with color gradients, nature is alienated, stylized and fantastically exaggerated: Flowers, trees, and animals seem to spring from a free realm of the imagination and bear only a vague resemblance to reality. Kuzma follows an artistic program dedicated to beauty. Her schematized forms are indebted to an unaffected approach. Nevertheless, it is not Kuzma’s goal to depict a harmony of order; instead, she repeatedly stages mistakes and rule-breaking. The rehabilitation of ritual can also be encountered in contemporary art in the emphasis on form as the ethic of ornamental aesthetics.

 

 

INGRID LECHNER

 

Frogs, parrots, owls, butterflies and chameleons are typical pictorial motifs of Ingrid Lechner (1972). Embedded in a fauna shimmering in many shades of green, an exotic animal world gathers in the works on paper, animalistic fantasy creatures and predators that have wings proudly present themselves under a sky of colorful garlands. Lechner depicts a horde of ordinary house cats in front of a wallpaper of hearts. One time as a mass, the other time neatly arranged or lined up in rows. Before she begins to work, Lechner studies books and photographs and then translates the representations she has selected into a two-dimensional formal language. The realistic depiction of reality has never been of interest to the artist. With the pronounced ornamentation, the shrill swirls of color that often dynamize the static composition, the works often have a psychedelic feel. The interweaving of colors and forms dominates the colored pencil drawings just as much as the focus on animal depictions. Lechner wants to undermine conventional pictorial orders and repeatedly turns the picture support during the working process in order to relativize the hierarchies of above and below, left and right.

(Texts: Angela Stief)

An insight into the wer:art – Studio here!

Vienna Art WeekNews

LIVING RITUALS – EXHIBITION PARCOURS

Ein Rundgang durch sieben ausgewählte Ateliers

Aus den 100 Künstlerinnen und Künstler der Open Studio Days hat eine Jury sieben Ateliers ausgewählt, in den sich Kunstschaffende mit dem Thema „Living Rituals“ beschäftigen.  Begeben Sie sich auf einen Online-Rundgang zu den kuratierten Atelier-Präsentationen und lesen Sie über die Arbeitsweise und Gedankenwelt der Künstlerinnen und Künstler nach. Der Fotograf Sandro Zanzinger ermöglicht seltene Einblicke in künstlerische Schaffensräume.

Im Rahmen der Vienna Art Week-Woche fanden Online-Talks mit den Künstlerinnen und Künstlern des LIVING RITUALS Exhbition Parcours statt, die über die Direktlinks nachzusehen sind.

Atelier Elisabeth von Samsonow © Sandro Zanzinger

ELISABETH VON SAMSONOW

„Für mich sind Rituale die großen magischen Handlungsanordnungen, die Metaphysik des Körpers. Die Kulturwissenschaft hat alles Mögliche zum Ritual erklärt – was sie gerne machen kann –, aber das Ritual ist in diesen grandiosen Verallgemeinerungen verschwunden. Ist Zähneputzen ein Ritual? Eher nicht. Der effizienzsteigernd durchgetaktete Alltag des modernen Menschen ist eher von konditionierenden Gewohnheiten durchzogen als von Ritualen. Der Raum des Rituals ist immer magisch, sofern er erschafft, ordnet, erkennt, eingreift in die Weltordnung. Zum Ritual gehört also immer ein Weltbild oder ein Bewusstseinstyp und auf jeden Fall die absolute Identifikation des Ritualisten mit der gesamten Welt. Der Ritualist handelt als Welt. Die Ritualkrise der zweiten Hälfte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts ist nicht nur eine Krise des zum Ritual gehörigen magischen Bewusstseinstyps gewesen, sondern markiert auch das Ende der hochgradig autonomisierenden Funktion des Rituals: Der Ritualist und die Ritualistin übertreffen natürlich locker die mächtigsten Politiker in ihren Wirkungsansprüchen, wodurch sie sich suspekt machen. Kein Wunder, dass sich vor allem die Feministinnen der ersten Welle in den Siebzigerjahren auf Magie und Ritual als provokante Praxis konzentriert haben (und dazu – nebenher – intelligente Analysen ihrer „magischen“ Bewusstseinspolitik vorlegten). Rituale sind darüber hinaus Handlungsformen, die durch Wiederholung stabilisieren und stabilisiert werden (bis zum Verlust der ursprünglichen Intention), was natürlich die sogenannten Alltagsrituale als Kandidaten für das Thema empfiehlt, auch wenn diesen die Welt ordnende Dimension fehlt (sie ordnen nur den kleinen Menschen, der täglich seine Portion Zwangshandlung verrichtet). Ein Handkuss ist noch kein Ritual, sondern nur eine Habitusformel. Das aufrechte moderne Magieverbot macht es dem Ritual nicht leicht. Die Kunst ist auf jeden Fall die Ebene, die den Verlust des Rituals am ehesten auszugleichen imstande ist, oder sogar profitiert vom westlichen Ritualzerfall. Sie operiert nicht selten auf der liminalen Ebene der Ritualerfindung, wobei sie die Rituale oft auf Kosten ihrer konstitutiven Wiederholung herstellt (im Sinne der hochgradig geladenen „Einmalhandlung“). Die Diskussion zum Wesen der Performance hält sich nicht umsonst auf beim „Reenactment“ von wichtigen, die Performancegeschichte definierenden Performances. Ich erhoffe mir von der künstlerischen Aneignung der zerfallenden Ritualenergie und der daraus entstehenden und entstandenen Praxis eine gesellschaftliche Auswirkung auf die über Handlung und Haltung organisierbare Autonomisierung des Subjekts.“

Hier geht es zum LIVING RITUALS Talk mit Elisabeth Samsonow

Atelier Heinrich Dunst © Sandro Zanzinger

HEINRICH DUNST

Heinrich Dunst verbindet in seinen Arbeiten Elemente der Sprache, des Bildes und der Skulptur und stellt deren Verhältnis als mediale Schnittstellen dar. In seinen „metasprachlichen“ Rauminterventionen und Performances verhandelt er die Lücke zwischen dem Sichtbaren und Sagbaren, die Unübersetzbarkeit einer Form in eine andere und die Kontextualität räumlicher Präsentationen. Die Wurzeln seines konzeptuellen Ansatzes liegen in Konkreter Poesie in der Wiener Szene der 1980er-Jahre mit ihrem Anspruch, die abstrakte Malerei in den Ausstellungsraum zu erweitern, und auch bei jenen künstlerischen Positionen, die wie Marcel Broodthaers die Wahrnehmungssysteme von Wort und Bild untersuchen. Dunst verleiht diesen Fragestellungen eine neue Aktualität, indem er die aufgerufenen Referenzen in ihrer Eindeutigkeit hinterfragt und so letztlich die der Kunst eigenen Voraussetzungen offenlegt. Der Künstler sagt:
„Wenn sich die Rituale des Alltags wie Konservendosen unaufhörlich und in ihrem gerichteten Verbrauch schier unumkehrbar entleeren, dann benötigen sie in diesem Ritual ein Double: eine Form, die sie spiegelt. die abstrakten Formen in meinen Arbeiten sind die Volumina für dieses gegenüber. Für diese Formen des Alltags. Ein Double. „Die Konservendose wird dumm, und die Abstraktion ist klug. Perspektiveumkehr: die Abstraktion wird dumm, die Konservendose ist klug“, so Peter Weibel.
Die Sprachverschiebung thematisiert andererseits auf einer wortsprachlichen Ebene diesen Verlauf und seine Umkehr: Das sind meine Performances. Das Wort kritisiert das Wort, durch die performative Verschiebung des Sprachgebrauchs. die Sprache wendet sich an das entleerte Ritual des Sprechens selbst.“

Hier geht es zum LIVING RITUALS Talk mit Heinrich Dunst 

Atelier Robert Schaberl © Sandro Zanzinger

ROBERT SCHABERL

Auratische Bilder im buchstäblichen Sinne des Wortes. Zentralformen, gleißende Scheiben, die zwischen punktueller Konzentration in der Mitte und Ausdehnung oszillieren, Lichtreflexionen und pulsierende Kreisflächen in unendlichen Farbvariationen, subtile Farbübergänge, manchmal Kontraste, aber auch Studien in schwarz. Kunst der Schwingung, die im Großformat ihre maximale Emphase erzielt und in der Serialität der Mittel- und Kleinformate das Gleichmaß sucht. Farbiges Licht und die Veränderung der sogenannten Erscheinungsfarbe, also der Farbe, wie der Betrachter sie wahrnimmt, steht im Fokus des Werkes von Robert Schaberl. Das Spektrum, das er als Aesthetic Researcher untersucht, reicht von Farbe als Material bis hin zur Modulation von mikroprismatischen Pigmenten durch Lichteinfall. Schaberl schafft mit seinen abstrakten Arbeiten auf Leinwand und Papier, die der Zentralperspektive durch Zentralformen parieren, die stets, kaum wahrnehmbar aus dem exakten Mittelpunkt gerückt sind, malerische Erfahrungsräume, die dem Betrachter ein sinnliches Erlebnis bescheren. Je nach Perspektive erscheint es neu.
Die Wiederholung der alltäglichen Arbeit im Atelier, das Aufspannen der Leinwände, das Anrühren der Farben sowie der immer gleiche Arbeitsprozess, das Auftragen von Farbe in hauchdünnen Schichten, die Leinwand, die der Künstler mit der Hand in Rotation versetzt, der Pinsel, mit dem zahlreiche Kreise geformt werden, begreift Schaberl als rituelle Handlungsformen.

Hier geht es zum LIVING RITUALS Talks mit Robert Schaberl

Atelier Klaus Mosettig © Sandro Zanzinger

KLAUS MOSETTIG

Das Grundkonzept von Klaus Mosettigs Arbeit besteht in der Abbildung von Zeit durch die Wiederholung gleicher Arbeitsprozesse: Jeden Tag setzt er mit Bleistift seine Striche, schraffiert rund neun Stunden und spitzt circa eine Stunde lang seine Werkzeuge. Egal ob abstrakte Kunst, Kinderzeichnungen, Selbstporträts aus der Kunstgeschichte, Abdrücke, die sich in Gegenstände eingeschrieben haben und gesellschaftspolitische Relevanz erlangt haben, Klaus Mosettig unterzieht seine ausgewählten Motive dem immer gleichen Prozedere, übersetzt selbst gewählte Vorlagen in seiner spezifischen Methodik auf Papier und gliedert sie in ein Archiv der Formen ein. Mittels dieser Scanner ähnlichen Tätigkeit lassen sich flach abgebildete künstlerische Emanationen so unterschiedlich sie auch sein mögen, ob Kunst oder Nicht-Kunst, ähnlich lesen. Dieser Akt der Aneignung und Homogenisierung lässt durch die stets gleiche Schraffur eine Distanz zum Abgebildeten entstehen. Fragen der Autorschaft, Wiederholung als sinnstiftendes Element, die formale Suche nach einem möglichst überzeugenden, qualitativ hochstehenden „Strich“ und eine transparente Kunstproduktion stehen im Mittelpunkt von Mosettigs Interesse. Die stets gleichförmige, rituelle Tätigkeit ermöglicht dem Künstler einen meditativen Zustand der Reflexion über seine Arbeit, die sich so – ganz langsam – weiterentwickeln kann.

Hier geht es zum LIVING RITUALS Talk mit Klaus Mosettig

Atelier Borjana Ventzislavova © Sandro Zanzinger

BORJANA VENTZISLAVOVA

Borjana Ventzislavova arbeitet in den Bereichen Film/Video, Fotografie, Installation und Performance. Sie untersucht das Verhältnis zwischen Realität und Fiktion in unterschiedlichen sozialen und geographischen Räumen. In ihren Arbeiten analysiert sie Stereotype, Repräsentationsmodelle, verfolgt die Auswirkungen von dominanten Machtstrukturen und Kontrollmechanismen in der Gesellschaft.
Ihre Arbeit befasst sie sich auch mit der Verschiebung und Transgression von kulturellen Grenzen und den damit verbundenen psychischen Dynamiken sowie mit komplexen Prozessen der Übersetzung. In ihrer künstlerischen Praxis benutzt sie häufig partizipatorische Ansätze, um eine Plattform der Reflexion und Kritik zu schaffen. „Borjana Ventzislavova verwendet die Form des Rituals, um ohne ideologische Belehrungen die Möglichkeit einer gesellschaftlichen Wirklichkeit vorzustellen, die durch ein lebendiges, vorurteilsfreies Begegnen konstituiert wird. Eine Idee, die sie mit dem Begriff der Liebe des Anarchisten Pjotr Alexejewitsch Kropotkin teilt”, schreibt Boris Manner. Rituale sind für sie eine Technik, ein Instrument der Solidarisierung und der symbolischen Kommunikation mit häufig sinnlicher und auch übersinnlicher Wirkung. Sie will damit Ermächtigungs- und Heilungsprozesse in Gang setzen. Ventzislavova geht es um die Kultivierung und Sensibilisierung des Selbst. Das Rituelle in ihrer Arbeit steht für eine außerästhetische Wahrheit. Sie fordert ein neues Ritualbewusstsein.

Hier geht es zum LIVING RITUALS Talk mit Borjana Ventzislalova

Atelier MandreDu Schu © Sandro Zanzinger

MANFREDU SCHU

Sei Ritual, sei Faktum, rät ManfreDu Schu. Er beschäftigt sich mit Körper und Sprache, Orten der Schönheit und der Verstofflichung des Körpers. Seine Arbeitssprache bezeichnet er als „Staged Visibility“. Rituale sind für ihn ein wichtiger Grundbaustein der Kreation von Identität.
„So ist der Geist auch immer Körper verkörpert in unseren innigsten Bedürfnissen“, meint er. „Unser Spiegel ist der unbewusste Körper, der uns langsam auf einer lebenslangen Suche durch das Ineinanderfließen der eigenen Identität und der Rituale des Außen transformiert. Die Maskerade, das Erregte und das Verzauberte bilden uns unablässig zwischen Traum und Wirklichkeit ab; beides sind Realitäten der Verwandlung. Die Quelle des künstlerischen Handelns sind immer Ereignisse und Empfindungen, die Bühne des Selbst, die die oberflächliche von der Gesellschaft geprägte Hülle der sozialen Normen verlässt. Die Kraft des künstlerischen Ausdrucks muss unter die Maske dringen, um die Tiefe der Intimität in einem Labyrinth zu offenbaren, das den Konflikt zwischen Kunstwerk und Selbst überwindet; es wendet sich tief ans Innere, an eine theatralische Analyse der Persönlichkeit, wo so etwas wie eine sich verwandelnde Wahrheit wohnt. Im Ritus des Experiments wohnt der Körper als Geist und dessen treibende Kraft der Überzeugung; sein Labor ist das innere Kind, dessen künstlerisches Ziel der Wandel, die Entdeckung der vielen Facetten des Selbst ist, wo das Leben und seine Wirkung in theatralischer Gestalt als Anatomie der Erinnerung in die Zukunft weist.“

Hier geht es zum LIVING RITUAL Talk mit ManfreDu Schu

Atelier werd:art © Sandro Zanzinger

SUSANNE DIXON

Suzanne Dixon (geb. 1972) beschäftigt sich mit vergangenen Zeiten und fernen Epochen. Schon als Kind begegnete sie durch ihre Mutter, die Archäologin ist, (prä-) historischem Kulturgut. Insbesondere Artefakte, die zu repräsentativen Zwecken entstanden sind, faszinieren sie. Dixons Figurenbilder beziehen sich sowohl auf österreichische Adelsdynastien aus dem Barock, dem Rokoko und der Biedermeierzeit als auch auf gegenwärtige Staats- und Stadtoberhäupter. Im Mittelpunkt der Bunt- und Filzstift-Zeichnungen in DIN A4 und A3-Formaten, die wie Schautafeln in einem Museum wirken, stehen Herrscherinnen, deren ornamental verzierte Gewänder, Accessoires und Gebrauchsutensilien: Das reicht von einer Kurfürstin über eine Markgräfin bis zu einer Hinterhofmadonna. Meist ist ihr Haupt bekrönt. Das Design der bunt gemusterten Kleider erinnert in der detaillierten Ausführung und der präzisen Setzung von Punkten und Farbflächen an die kleinformatigen Stickereien der Künstlerin, die sie in einem Künstlerbuch mit kurzen Kommentaren versehen gesammelt hat. Sie zeigen häufig kleine Szenen mit Menschen und insbesondere Tiere. Emotionale Bekundungen und Wunschvorstellungen ergänzen die textilen Bildchen.

 

SUSANNE KUZMA

Susanne Kuzma (geb. 1966) malt Landschaften mit Buntstiften in Farben, die froh machen. Die Künstlerin abstrahiert von fotografischen Vorlagen, die sie inspirieren, indem sie etwa Horizont, Wiese und Acker in Streifen, Regenbögen und bunte Schachbrettmuster auflöst. Die letztendlich doch gegenständlichen Bilder werden aus Quadraten, motivischen Wiederholungen und geometrischen Formen konstruiert. Es entstehen Landschaften, Blumenfelder, Strände, ornamentale Musterbilder, die die Oberfläche betonen. Wolken ähneln Kritzeleien mit farblichem Verlauf, Natur wird verfremdet, stilisiert und fantastisch überhöht: Blumen, Bäume und Tiere scheinen einem freien Reich der Imagination zu entspringen und weisen nur eine vage Ähnlichkeit mit der Realität auf. Kuzma folgt einem künstlerischen Programm, das sich dem Schönen verschrieben hat. Ihre schematisierten Formen sind einer ungekünstelten Herangehensweise geschuldet. Dennoch ist es nicht das Ziel von Kuzma eine Harmonie der Ordnung darzustellen, stattdessen inszeniert sie immer wieder Fehler und Regelbrüche. Der Rehabilitation des Rituals kann man in der zeitgenössischen Kunst auch in der Betonung der Form als Ethik der ornamentalen Ästhetik begegnen.

 

INGRID LECHNER

Frösche, Papageien, Eulen, Schmetterlinge und Chamäleons sind typische Bildmotive von Ingrid Lechner (1972). Eingebettet in eine in vielen Grüntönen schillernde Fauna versammelt sich auf den Papierarbeiten eine exotische Tierwelt, animalische Fantasiewesen und Raubtiere, die Flügel haben, präsentieren sich stolz unter einem Himmel aus bunten Girlanden. Eine Horde von ordinären Hauskatzen stellt Lechner vor einer Herzchentapete dar. Das eine Mal als Masse, das andere Mal fein säuberlich arrangiert oder aufgestellt in Reih und Glied. Bevor sie zu Arbeiten beginnt, studiert Lechner Bücher und Fotografien und übersetzt dann die von ihr ausgewählten Darstellungen in eine flächige Formensprache. Das realitätsgetreue Abbild der Wirklichkeit war für die Künstlerin noch nie von Interesse. Mit der ausgeprägten Ornamentik, den schrillen Farbwirbeln, die häufig die statische Komposition dynamisieren, muten die Werke häufig psychedelisch an. Die Verschränkung von Farben und Formen beherrscht die Farbstiftzeichnungen genauso wie der Fokus auf Tierdarstellungen. Konventionelle Bildordnungen will Lechner aushebeln und dreht während des Arbeitsprozesses immer wieder den Bildträger, um die Hierarchien von oben und unten, links und rechts zu relativieren.

(Texte: Angela Stief)

Einen Einblick in die wer:art-Studios gibt es hier!