BEYOND VIENNA

Everything is so alive – documenta fifteen 2022

A visit to the global art exhibition in Kassel. By Sabine B. Vogel.

documenta fifteen: documenta Halle, Outside view, 2021, Foto: Nicolas Wefers

Every five years, documenta must assert its relevance. The public expects to see tomorrow’s art in Kassel today. For several decades now, this has been redeemed less with innovative visual languages than with upcoming discourses, as when Okwui Enwezor addressed postcolonialism in 2002 and launched documenta 11 with four advance discussion platforms worldwide for this purpose. Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev provoked in 2012 with her idea of suffrage for strawberries and emphasized a posthuman worldview at her documenta 13, and Adam Szymczyk invited indigenous artists for the first time to documenta 14 in 2017.

The expansion of documenta towards the South, begun by Enwezor and continued by Szymczyk with the Athens Dependance, has now been radicalized with documenta fifteen: The Global South dominates. The Indonesian curatorial collective ruangrupa explicitly did not want any artists known in the geopolitical West to be present. As a vague concept, they introduce the well-known Indonesian model ‘lumbung’, which means the idea of a communally regulated distribution, originally of rice.

documenta fifteen, ruangrupa, back row l.t.r.: Iswanto Hartono, Reza Afisina, farid rakun, Ade Darmawan, Mirwan Andan; front row l.t.r.: Ajeng Nurul Aini, Indra Ameng, Daniella Fitria Praptono, Julia Sarisetiati at the installation Vietnamese Immigrating Garden by Tuan Mami (Nha San Collective), 2022, Foto: Nicolas Wefers

Instead of outstanding individual voices, documenta fifteen is all about community. Consequently, ruangrupa does not follow a “classic authoritarian approach”, as Ade Darmawan calls it on July 6, 2022 in the Committee for Culture and Media, German Bundestag, but they “prefer to work together”: They invited another 14 collectives, who in turn brought 64 collectives to join them. In this way, around 1500 participants came together, most of them organized in some kind of group structure, often cultural spaces from regions with weak art infrastructures. The fewest are artists.

 

Those who do not expect masterpieces by celebrities will nevertheless find remarkable contributions at the documenta, the sculptures by Shabu Mwangi in the documenta Halle (invited by the Wajukuu Art Project) or the contributions of the 30 or so invited from Haiti by the Ghetto Biennale in St. Kunigundis Church. Impressive also the Roma work show of the Off Biennale, which the Hungarian collective has set up from the Fridericianum to the boat rental Ahoi as “ROMA-MOMA” with paintings and installations. Grandiose the adaptation of the Cinderella fairy tale, which Saodat Ismailova filmed in her native Uzbekistan.

DE: documenta fifteen: Atis Rezistans | Ghetto Biennale, Installationsansicht, St. Kunigundis, Kassel, 14. Juni 2022, Foto: Frank Sperling EN: documenta fifteen: Atis Rezistans | Ghetto Biennale, 2022, installation view, St. Kunigundis, Kassel, June 14, 2022, photo: Frank Sperling
documenta fifiteen: OFF-Biennale Budapest, Ádám Kokesch, Caravan, 2022, Installationsansicht (von Außen), Bootsverleih Ahoi, Kassel, 12. Juni 2022, Foto: Frank Sperling
documenta fifiteen: OFF-Biennale Budapest, Eva Koťátková, Daydreaming Workstation, 2022, Installationsansicht, Bootsverleih Ahoi, Kassel, 12. Juni 2022, Foto/Photo: Frank Sperling

But besides these works by classic solo artists, are there also contributions by collectives worth mentioning? Absolutely: The film projection of the Rojava-Film-Kommune about an almost forgotten language and songs of Syrian Kurds at the Fridericianum is fascinating. Now world-famous because of accusations of anti-Semitism are the Agit Prop hidden pictures by Taring Padi, a documenta sales hit the black-and-white ceramic fruit objects by Britto Arts Trust (Bangladesh), with which they “emphasize how food is separated from its natural origin and can only survive through chemical changes” (catalog).

The members of the indigenous queer collective FAFSWAG stage themselves in an almost parody-like exaltation; their photographs, however, do not quite meet our standards for the complexity of a work of art-but our criteria are decidedly not the point of this documenta. A different concept of art is presented, in which art and cultural work, high and popular culture, and all kinds of subcultures are mixed.

documenta fifteen: FAFSWAG, Whãnau Wall (Landscape), without year, installation view, Stadtmuseum, Kassel, June 13, 2022, photo: Nils Klinger

While the press reacted largely critically, most curators celebrate documenta fifteen as a grandiose success. Their argument: everything is so lively. In a public statement, the selection committee of artists and curators responsible for the curators is pleased about how “generous, thought-provoking, lively, and inviting” the presentations are. Such descriptions neither refer to discourses nor are they content-related statements, but rather succinct observations. But above all: an expression of a deep crisis of Western institutions.

This is where the topicality of documenta fifteen – beyond the collective hype – could possibly come into play: Does the snowball system of ruangrupa’s invitation policy and its carefree ignorance of curatorial concepts and questions of quality perhaps aim at an abolition or at least a huge disempowerment of curators? Will exhibitions soon do without heavyweight concepts and instead assemble world-political concerns, even if they don’t claim to be art? Will questions of artistic quality be put aside in our art halls and museums in an effort to include the whole world? Will art presentations soon be replaced by activist formats with increased group dynamics? This would promise an extraordinary exhibition program for the next five years, “without hierarchy or universalism,” as the documenta search committee puts it – until the next documenta has to reinvent the art world again.

documenta fifteen: Britto Arts Trust, ছায়ািছব(Chayachobi), 2022, installation view, Documenta Halle, Kassel, June 12, 2022, Photo:Nicolas Wefers

ADD PROGRAM APP TO YOUR PHONE

Add
×

BEYOND VIENNA

Alles so lebendig – documenta fifteen 2022

Ein Besuch auf der Weltkunstschau in Kassel. Von Sabine B. Vogel.

documenta fifteen: documenta Halle, Außenansicht, 2021, Foto: Nicolas Wefers

Alle fünf Jahre muss die documenta ihre Relevanz behaupten. Denn das Publikum erwartet, in Kassel heute schon die Kunst von morgen zu sehen. Seit einigen Jahrzehnten wird das weniger mit innovativen Bildsprachen als mit kommenden Diskursen eingelöst, wenn Okwui Enwezor 2002 Postkolonialismus thematisierte und dafür die documenta 11 mit vier vorab-Diskussions-Plattformen weltweit startete. Carolyn Christov-Bakargiev provozierte 2012 mit ihrer Idee eines Wahlrechts für Erdbeeren und betonte auf ihrer documenta 13 eine posthumane Weltsicht, und Adam Szymczyk lud zur documenta 14 2017 erstmals indigene Künstler:innen ein.

Die von Enwezor begonnene, von Szymczyk mit der Athen-Dependance fortgeführte Expansion der documenta Richtung Süden ist jetzt mit der documenta fifteen radikalisiert: Es dominiert der Globale Süden. Im geopolitischen Westen bekannte Künstler:innen wollte das indonesische Kuratorenkollektiv ruangrupa explizit nicht dabei haben. Als vages Konzept führen sie das in Indonesien allseits bekannte Modell ´lumbung´ ein, dass die Idee einer gemeinschaftlich geregelten Verteilung, ursprünglich von Reis, bedeutet.

documenta fifteen, ruangrupa, hintere Reihe v.l.n.r.: Iswanto Hartono, Reza Afisina, farid rakun, Ade Darmawan, Mirwan Andan; vordere Reihe v.l.n.r.: Ajeng Nurul Aini, Indra Ameng, Daniella Fitria Praptono, Julia Sarisetiati in der Installation Vietnamese Immigrating Garden von Tuan Mami (Nha San Collective), 2022, Foto: Nicolas Wefers

Statt herausragender Einzelstimmen dreht sich auf der documenta fifteen alles um Gemeinschaft. Konsequenterweise folgt ruangrupa auch keinem „klassisch autoritären Ansatz“, wie Ade Darmawan es am 6.7.2022 im Ausschuss für Kultur und Medien, Deutscher Bundestag nennt, sondern sie „ziehen es vor, zusammenzuarbeiten“: Sie luden weitere 14 Kollektive ein, die wiederum 64 Kollektive dazu holten. So kommen rund 1500 Teilnehmer:innen zusammen, die meisten in irgendeiner Gruppenstruktur organisiert, oft Kulturräume aus kunstinfrastrukturschwachen Regionen. Die wenigsten Künstler:innen.

 

Wer keine Meisterwerke von Berühmtheiten erwartet, wird auf der documenta trotzdem bemerkenswerte Beiträge finden, die Skulpturen von Shabu Mwangi in der documenta Halle (eingeladen vom Wajukuu Art Project) oder die Beiträge der rund 30, von der Ghetto Biennale aus Haiti Eingeladenen in der St. Kunigundis Kirche. Beeindruckend auch die Roma-Werkschau der Off Biennale, die das ungarische Kollektiv vom Fridericianum bis zum Bootsverleih Ahoi als „ROMA-MOMA“ mit Malerei und Installationen eingerichtet hat. Grandios die Adaption des Aschenputtel-Märchens, die Saodat Ismailova in ihrer Heimat Usbekistan filmte.

documenta fifteen: Atis Rezistans | Ghetto Biennale, 2022, installation view, St. Kunigundis, Kassel, June 14, 2022, photo: Frank SperlingEN: documenta fifteen: Atis Rezistans | Ghetto Biennale, 2022, installation view, St. Kunigundis, Kassel, June 14, 2022, photo: Frank Sperling
documenta fifteen: OFF-Biennale Budapest, Ádám Kokesch, Untitled (Caravan), 2022, installation view (outside), Bootsverleih Ahoi, Kassel, June 12, 2022, Photo: Frank Sperling
documenta fifteen: OFF-Biennale Budapest, Ádám Kokesch, Untitled (Caravan), 2022, installation view (inside), Bootsverleih Ahoi, Kassel, June 12, 2022, Photo:Frank Sperling

Aber gibt es neben diesen Werken klassischer Solo-Künstler:innen auch erwähnenswerte Beiträge von Kollektiven? Durchaus: Eine soghafte Faszination geht von der Filmprojektion der Rojava-Film-Kommune über eine fast vergessene Sprache und Lieder syrischer Kurden im Fridericianum aus. Mittlerweile weltberühmt wegen der Antisemitismus-Vorwürfe sind die Agit Prop-Wimmelbilder von Taring Padi, ein documenta-Verkaufshit die schwarz-weißen Keramik-Fruchtobjekte von Britto Arts Trust (Bangladesh), mit denen sie „unterstreichen, wie Lebensmittel von ihrem natürlichen Ursprung getrennt sind und nur durch chemische Veränderungen überleben können“ (Katalog).

Fast parodiehaft exaltiert inszenieren sich die Mitglieder des indigenen Queer-Kollektivs FAFSWAG, deren Fotografien allerdings nicht ganz unseren Ansprüchen an die Komplexität eines Kunstwerks entsprechen – aber um unsere Kriterien geht es auf dieser documenta dezidiert nicht. Es wird ein anderer Kunstbegriff präsentiert, in dem sich Kunst & Kulturarbeit, Hoch- und Populärkultur und dazu allerhand Subkulturen vermischen.

documenta fifteen: FAFSWAG, Whãnau Wall (Landscape), ohne Jahr, Installationsansicht, Stadtmuseum, Kassel, 13. Juni 2022, Foto: Nils Klinger

Während die Presse darauf weitgehend kritisch reagierte, feiern die meisten Kurator:innen die documenta fifteen als grandiosen Erfolg. Ihr Argument: Alles sei so lebendig. Die für die Kuratoren verantwortliche Findungskommission aus Künstler:innen und Kurator:innen freut sich in einem öffentlichen Statement darüber, wie „generös, zum Nachdenken anregend, lebendig und einladend“ die Präsentationen seien. Solche Beschreibungen referieren weder auf Diskurse noch sind es inhaltliche Setzungen, sondern lapidar Beobachtungen. Vor allem aber: Ausdruck einer tiefen Krise westlicher Institutionen.

Hier könnte möglicherweise auch die Aktualität der documenta fifteen – über den Kollektiv-Hype hinaus – ansetzen: Zielt das Schneeballsystem von ruangrupas Einladungspolitik und ihre unbekümmerte Ignoranz gegenüber kuratorischen Konzepten und Qualitätsfragen vielleicht auf eine Abschaffung oder zumindest gewaltige Entmachtung von Kurator:innen? Werden Ausstellung bald ohne schwergewichtige Konzepte auskommen und stattdessen weltpolitische Anliegen, auch gerne ohne Kunstanspruch, versammeln? Werden in unseren Kunsthallen und Museen Fragen nach künstlerischer Qualität ad acta gelegt im Bestreben, die ganze Welt zu inkludieren? Werden Kunstpräsentationen bald von aktivistischen Formaten mit erhöhter Gruppendynamik abgelöst? Das würde für die nächsten fünf Jahre ein außergewöhnliches Ausstellungsprogramm versprechen, „ohne Hierarchie oder Universalismus“, wie es die Findungskommission zur documenta formuliert – bis die nächste documenta die Kunstwelt wieder neu erfinden muss.

documenta fifteen: Britto Arts Trust, ছায়ািছব(Chayachobi), 2022, Installationsansicht, Documenta Halle, Kassel, 12. Juni 2022, Foto:Nicolas Wefers