Vienna Art WeekNews
MEET THE ARTIST

Ezgi Erol

Extra info

In cooperation with studio das weisse haus.

Ezgi Erol, Self-Intersecting

Ezgi Erol is part of the Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien Studio Program 2020 and a participant in the Open Studios during Vienna Art Week. We met in her studio at the Creative Cluster for a conversation about her work, which spans sociology, video, performance, research, editorial and curatorial work, with a focus on areas including intersectionality, diaspora and migration.

The trans-disciplinary focus of her practice, she says, is a necessary element: “I first began my Master’s in sociology, but I started to feel like something was missing. Then I began conceptual art practice at the Academy in Vienna, but felt that that the sociological aspect and research focus were missing. For me, it is very important to do different things – sociology, art, editorial, curatorial work. They are all happening in parallel.”

These parallel interests certainly come through in works such as ‘Self-Intersecting’ (2015). In thinking about the theme of Vienna Art Week, ‘Living Rituals’, Erol chose to share this black-and-white experimental video performance, which revolves around language and the function of an everyday household appliance: the vacuum cleaner.

Everyday household cleaning rituals, and the instruments we use to carry them out, have frequently been taken up as a subject in art to interrogate notions of private space, domesticity, and issues of gender, race, body and labor. Though it doesn’t take cleaning as its subject, Erol also cites Martha Rosler’s ‘Semiotics of the Kitchen’ (1975) – which presents a parody of television cooking shows in a critical approach to domestic labor and oppressive gender roles. Though Rosler’s work is perhaps similarly concerned with language and systems of signs, Erol’s video performance is more abstract. The rhythmic sounds of a vacuum cleaner can be heard alongside a voiceover that recites instructions and safety guidelines for its operation, as a shadow figure wields the vacuum within an imagined space.

Why focus on the vacuum cleaner, specifically?

For Erol, the vacuum is not only an important household appliance, but also an emblem of the subtle ways in which social and power relations are constructed and embedded in our immediate surroundings: “When I read the instructions I thought: ‘Wow, how is it possible that we have such dictatorial language in our homes?’ For example, it refers to disabled bodies and children – who can use the vacuum and who cannot.”

Thinking about what such a text, found in the home, could be used for, she decided to reconstruct it: “It was very important for me to think through this text as a basis for the everyday world.” In this way, the language and mechanisms at work also negotiate the relationship between public and private spaces, and encounters between body, space and object.

The figure, whose shadow is projected against a cloth backdrop, becomes so abstract at times that distinctions between body and appliance begin to dissolve – the vacuum appears as an extension of the body, a limb, changing its form. This reconstituting of bodies occurs within a flexible space – an ever-shifting virtual room is projected onto the fabric, in a way mirroring its fluidity and texture. A grid and vectors give shape to this unstable, ambiguous space – visualizing a “semiotic net”. At times, the changing perspective also seems to react to the movements of the vacuum cleaner, being pulled and pushed, repositioned accordingly. In tandem with the back-and-forth motion of the vacuum cleaner and the accompanying sway of the body, a system of mutual influence and disturbances is performed. The voiceover, meanwhile, details safety instructions, meandering into commentary, for example, on the exchange value of domestic labor, noting “marxism and feminism may not have entered into a happy relationship.”

Ezgi Erol, Interwoven Images

In the process, the everyday task of vacuuming is rendered absurd – a familiar home appliance and ritual are made strange – by highlighting the absurd nature that already exists but might otherwise go unnoticed. Underlining the linguistic power of a standard text found in the home, sexist and ableist structures and social norms are made visible and unravelled, as the linearity of the digitally rendered space is continually undone and reconstructed. The voiceover explains in a deceptively matter-of-fact tone: “…machines were created to give people the feeling of normality.”

Erol herself is the performing figure in the video, and, as we watched and discussed it in her studio, the performative dimension seemed to be echoed by a set of old theatre seats from the Kosmos Theater. Placed at an angle towards the center of the room, they stood partially unoccupied – without an audience – as we enacted our own performance of sorts: a studio visit ritual.

Though manifesting in a different way, a performative element also emerges in her current project, ‘Interwoven Images’, which materializes in a few small printouts hung on the wall in one corner of the studio, alongside a series of screen prints and several copies of the poster from ‘Invulnerable’ (2018) – part of an intervention in public space.

‘Interwoven Images’ is an in-progress video work that presents different levels of abstraction, reconfiguring spaces through disembodied performative gestures. The work looks at ways of reconstructing memory – social, collective – in the context of migrants’ and refugees’ experiences of both devastated and intact landscapes, and what these landscapes mean for those who have fled places destroyed by war. Mostly still, close-up shots of sites in Austria are to be placed alongside an alternative view of the same: the video images distilled to shifting geometric patterns reflecting the scene’s dominant colors. The largely nondescript landscapes feature small interventions by Erol: a sliver of sun shining through a crack in a bridge caught at the exact right moment; a gold teapot set upon the rocks, partially submerged by flowing water; a mirror, also placed in water, reflecting the image of a clock’s blue face. In the process, these sites become memorialized by the everyday objects and encounters that have been presented there, like monuments.

This work and the politics of memory more broadly are what currently occupy Erol’s practice, as well as questions around situating research as an artistic discipline. This, of course, takes place alongside her PhD research on the relationship between the contemporary art world and the arms industry, and her editorial work for MIGRAZINE – Online Magazine by Migrant Women for Everyone, which has just wrapped up its latest issue.

(Julianne Cordray)

Vienna Art WeekNews
MEET THE ARTIST

Ezgi Erol

Extra info

In Kooperation mit studio das weisse haus.

Ezgi Erol, Self-Intersecting

Ezgi Erol ist Teilnehmerin des Atelierprogramms 2020 der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Wien sowie der Open Studio Days während der Vienna Art Week. Wir trafen uns in ihrem Studio im Creative Cluster für ein Gespräch über ihre Arbeit, die Soziologie, Video, Performance, Forschung, redaktionelle und kuratorische Arbeit umfasst – mit besonderem Blick auf Bereiche wie Intersektionalität, Diaspora und Migration.

Der transdisziplinäre Fokus ihrer Arbeit, sagt sie, ist ein notwendiges Element: „Ich habe zunächst meinen Master in Soziologie begonnen, aber ich hatte das Gefühl, dass etwas fehlt. Dann begann ich mit konzeptueller Kunst an der Akademie in Wien, hatte aber das Gefühl, dass der soziologische Aspekt und der Forschungsschwerpunkt fehlen. Für mich ist es sehr wichtig, verschiedene Dinge zu tun – Soziologie, Kunst, redaktionelle und kuratorische Arbeit. Das passiert alles parallel.“

Diese parallelen Interessen kommen sicherlich in Arbeiten wie „Self-Intersecting“ (2015) durch. Mit Blick auf das Thema der Vienna Art Week, „Living Rituals“, entschied sich Erol für diese experimentelle Videoperformance in Schwarz-Weiß, die sich um Sprache und Funktion eines alltäglichen Haushaltsgeräts dreht: den Staubsauger.

Reinigungsrituale im Haushalt und die Instrumente dazu wurden in der Kunst schon oft thematisiert, um Vorstellungen von privatem Raum, Häuslichkeit und Fragen von Geschlecht, Rasse, Körper und Arbeit zu hinterfragen. Obwohl sie das Putzen nicht zum Thema macht, zitiert Erol auch Martha Roslers „Semiotics of the Kitchen“ (1975) – die eine Parodie von Fernsehkochshows in einer kritischen Annäherung an die häusliche Arbeit und unterdrückende Geschlechterrollen darstellt. Während Roslers Arbeit sich vielleicht in ähnlicher Weise mit Sprache und Zeichensystemen beschäftigt, ist Erols Videoperformance abstrakter. Die rhythmischen Geräusche eines Staubsaugers sind neben einem Voiceover zu hören, das Anweisungen und Sicherheitsrichtlinien für die Bedienung des Geräts rezitiert, während eine Schattenfigur den Staubsauger in einem imaginären Raum bedient.

Warum gerade der Fokus auf den Staubsauger?

Für Erol ist der Staubsauger nicht nur ein wichtiges Haushaltsgerät, sondern auch ein Sinnbild für die subtile Art und Weise, wie soziale Beziehungen und Machtverhältnisse in unserer unmittelbaren Umgebung konstruiert und eingebettet sind: „Als ich die Gebrauchsanweisung las, dachte ich: ‚Wow, wie ist es möglich, dass wir so eine diktatorische Sprache in unseren Häusern haben?‘ Sie bezieht sich zum Beispiel auf Behinderte und Kinder – wer den Staubsauger benutzen kann und wer nicht.“

Als sie darüber nachdachte, wofür ein solcher Text verwendet werden könnte, beschloss sie, ihn zu rekonstruieren: „Es war für mich sehr wichtig, diesen Text als Grundlage für die Alltagswelt zu durchdenken.“ Auf diese Weise verhandeln die Sprache und die Mechanismen, die dabei zum Einsatz kommen, auch das Verhältnis zwischen öffentlichem und privatem Raum und die Begegnung zwischen Körper, Raum und Objekt.

Die Figur, deren Schatten vor einen Stoffhintergrund projiziert wird, wird zeitweise so abstrakt, dass sich die Unterscheidungen zwischen Körper und Gerät aufzulösen beginnen – das Vakuum erscheint als eine Erweiterung des Körpers, ein Glied, das seine Form verändert. Diese Rekonstruierung von Körpern findet in einem flexiblen Raum statt – ein sich ständig verändernder virtueller Raum wird auf den Stoff projiziert, sodass er dessen Fließfähigkeit und Textur widerspiegelt. Ein Raster und Vektoren geben diesem instabilen, mehrdeutigen Raum Form – sie visualisieren ein „semiotisches Netz“. Zeitweise scheint die wechselnde Perspektive auch auf die Bewegungen des Staubsaugers zu reagieren, der gezogen und geschoben wird und sich entsprechend neu positioniert. Im Zusammenspiel mit der Hin- und Herbewegung des Staubsaugers und dem damit einhergehenden Schwanken des Körpers entsteht ein System gegenseitiger Beeinflussung und Störung. Die Offstimme gibt Sicherheitshinweise und mäandert zum Beispiel in einen Kommentar über den Tauschwert häuslicher Arbeit: „marxism and feminism may not enter into a happy relationship.“

Ezgi Erol, Interwoven Images

Dabei wird die alltägliche Aufgabe des Staubsaugens ad absurdum geführt – ein vertrautes Haushaltsgerät und Ritual wird fremd gemacht –, indem das Absurde hervorgehoben wird, das bereits existiert, aber sonst vielleicht unbemerkt bliebe. Indem die sprachliche Kraft eines Standardtextes, der im Haushalt zu finden ist, unterstrichen wird, werden sexistische und leistungsfeindliche Strukturen und soziale Normen sichtbar gemacht und enträtselt, während die Linearität des digital gerenderten Raumes immer wieder rückgängig gemacht und rekonstruiert wird. Die Off–Stimme erklärt in einem täuschend nüchternen Ton: „… Maschinen wurden geschaffen, um den Menschen das Gefühl von Normalität zu geben.“

Erol ist selbst die Darstellerin im Video, und als wir es in ihrem Atelier ansahen und diskutierten, schien die performative Dimension von einer Reihe alter Theatersitze aus dem Kosmos Theater widergespiegelt zu werden. In einem Winkel zur Mitte des Raumes platziert, standen sie teilweise unbesetzt – ohne Publikum – während wir unsere eigene Performance inszenierten: ein Ritual für einen Atelierbesuch.

Wenn auch auf andere Weise manifestiert, taucht ein performatives Element auch in ihrem aktuellen Projekt „Interwoven Images“ auf, das sich in einigen kleinen Ausdrucken materialisiert, die in einer Ecke des Studios an der Wand hängen, neben einer Reihe von Siebdrucken und mehreren Kopien des Posters von „Invulnerable“ (2018) – Teil einer Intervention im öffentlichen Raum.

‚Interwoven Images‘ ist eine in Arbeit befindliche Videoarbeit, die verschiedene Ebenen der Abstraktion präsentiert und Räume durch körperlose performative Gesten rekonfiguriert. Die Arbeit befasst sich mit Möglichkeiten der Rekonstruktion von – sozialer und kollektiver – Erinnerung im Kontext der Erfahrungen von Migranten und Flüchtlingen mit sowohl zerstörten als auch intakten Landschaften und was diese Landschaften für diejenigen bedeuten, die aus vom Krieg zerstörten Orten geflohen sind. Meist unbewegte Nahaufnahmen von Orten in Österreich werden einer alternativen Ansicht derselben gegenübergestellt: die Videobilder destilliert zu sich verschiebenden geometrischen Mustern, die die dominierenden Farben der Szene widerspiegeln. Die größtenteils unscheinbaren Landschaften sind mit kleinen Eingriffen von Erol versehen: ein Sonnenstrahl, der durch einen Riss in einer Brücke scheint und genau im richtigen Moment eingefangen wird; eine goldene Teekanne, die auf den Felsen steht und teilweise vom fließenden Wasser überflutet wird; ein Spiegel, der ebenfalls im Wasser steht und das Bild des blauen Zifferblatts einer Uhr reflektiert. Dabei werden diese Orte durch die alltäglichen Gegenstände und Begegnungen, die dort präsentiert wurden, wie Denkmäler in Erinnerung gerufen.

Diese Arbeit und die Politik des Erinnerns im weiteren Sinne sind es, die Erols Praxis derzeit bestimmen, ebenso wie Fragen nach der Stellung der Forschung als künstlerische Disziplin. Dies geschieht natürlich parallel zu ihrer Doktorarbeit über die Beziehung zwischen der zeitgenössischen Kunstwelt und der Rüstungsindustrie und ihrer redaktionellen Arbeit für MIGRAZINE – Online Magazine by Migrant Women for Everyone, das gerade seine neueste Ausgabe herausgebracht hat.

(Julianne Cordray)