Vienna Art WeekNews
MEET THE ARTIST

Stefan Draschan

XXX-Captionprimeraimagen

Stefan Draschan’s photographs are a big hit in the social networks. Particularly well known are his photos showing people in front of works of art, who unknowingly have a – often exhilarating – visual connection with them.

Stefan, please describe what makes your photographs so special.

Stefan Draschan: If necessary, I can talk for hours at Artist Talks about my and other’s photography, because I love it passionately. If I am asked about my photography in general, I refer to the art historian Wolfgang Ullrich, who writes in my book “Zufälle im Museum” (Coincidences in the Museum) (Hatje Cantz Verlag), among other things: “His photos rather show constellations of artworks and people, which remind us of the principle of counterparts: two things are related to each other, which is characterized by a good, unusual mixture of similarities and differences. (…) Paintings appear more dramatic and refined, sculptures more weighty and virtuoso, when Draschan photographs the artwork at the moment when one or more people approach it, who have a motif or stylistic idiosyncrasy that varies. So you could also say that Draschan is a curator with means of photography.”

What is special about the way you work?

Stefan Draschan: The time span: I can wait an eternity and then it’s a matter of a quarter of a second. And the amount of output is remarkable: I took 1,200 photos for “People Matching Artworks”, not all of which are crazy, of course.

What are you working on currently?

Stefan Draschan: For me, working is relative, a lot goes on in my head: I save all sorts of things and then it takes time to put the puzzle together. Either I have a picture in my head first or I even dream it and then I have to look at the reality or assess the chances. Sometimes it takes years until the second photo is taken and something becomes a series.

Since the appearance of Corona I have published ten different new series, for which I never had time and muse before: “People looking videos in exhibitions”, “(Almost) empty museums”, “Strassenstricher”, “Computer graveyard”, “People arguing with artworks”, “Women holding their neck while looking on …”, “Museums of water ingress / plastic buckets / waterdrops”, “People’s clothes matching seats in museums”, “Drug license plates”, “People sleeping in libraries”. All ten are published as Facebook albums for now, several on Instagram. I will put them on my website or on www.tumblr.com in the course of time.

Stefan, what can we look forward to next?

I’m currently thinking about making boxes of memorabilia in the style of Joseph Cornell: a Capri box and a Gmunden box full of small souvenirs I have from there.

Do you have a personal work ritual that you like to follow?

Yes, normally I visit a museum every two days. Now, during the Corona pandemic, of course, I don’t go. As long as there is still a risk of infection, I will reduce my museum visits to give space to other visitors. I recently read that the Barberini Museum in Potsdam is currently only allowes one third of the usual number of visitors to visit.

What is especially important to you about your studio?

Since my studio is the city I am in, or rather life per se (I almost always take pictures and always have my camera with me), many elements come together here. In the city of my dreams – or rather my world studio – after an espresso, a Babà and raving about the sea breeze in Mergellina, I would now take a funicular trip to Capri. I would then swim in the sea, get out in Nice, eat fried mussels (moules frites) and oysters (huitres), and then ride the wheel of arms along the Seine from Place de la Republique Éclair à la pistache, where I would have to choose between the Musée d’Orsay or the Louvre. Afterwards, I enjoy some amazingly cheap and fantastic couscous legumes at Chez Omar in the Rue de Bretagne. In the evenings – oh, I’m old – because now I’m thinking of a calm evening on one of the car-free piazzas in Florence and the reflections of light in the Arno and all that with my girlfriend rather than of wild club nights on the hills of Acapulco or the Lagoa Rio des Janeiros.

How do you start a new work?

With the photos I just start in the making, but you have to become “ready” by practicing and be able to recall what you have learned. After, I group the works. With the collages and boxes I first have to pull myself together and then try different things, think again, change something, reject it …

How or where do you find inspiration for your work?

Almost everywhere: in Berlin, for example, I’m sure that after cycling around for a year and a half I’ve discovered my favourite spots in Berlin-Mitte where puddles are forming after it rains. When I looked at the water reflections from all sides, I always met people who asked me what I was doing there (nowadays not as often, since it is raining less than 5 years ago).

https://stefandraschan.com/

Vienna Art WeekNews
MEET THE ARTIST

Stefan Draschan

XXX-Captionprimeraimagen

Die Fotografien von Stefan Draschan sind in den Sozialen Netzwerken ein Renner. Besonders bekannt sind seine Fotos, die Personen vor Kunstwerken zeigen, die unwissentlich mit diesen in einer – oftmals erheiternden – optischen Verbindung stehen.

Stefan, beschreib uns doch bitte, was deine Fotografien ausmacht.

Stefan Draschan: Ich kann bei Bedarf stundenlang bei Artist Talks über meine und andere Fotos reden, da ich Fotografie leidenschaftlich liebe, dabei gehe ich auf einzelne, ausgesuchte Fotos ein. Werde ich allgemein zu meiner Fotografie befragt, halte ich mich an den Kunsthistoriker Wolfgang Ullrich, der in meinem Buch „Zufälle im Museum“ (Hatje Cantz Verlag) u.a. schreibt: „Seine Fotos zeigen vielmehr Konstellationen von Kunstwerken und Menschen, die an das Prinzip von Pendants erinnern: Zweierlei wird aufeinander bezogen, das sich durch eine gute, ungewöhnliche Mischung von Ähnlichkeiten und Unterschieden auszeichnet. (…) Gemälde erscheinen dramatischer und raffinierter, Skulpturen gewichtiger und virtuoser, wenn Draschan sie in dem Moment fotografiert, in dem sich ihnen eine oder mehrere Personen nähern, die ein Motiv oder eine stilistische Eigenart variiert an sich haben. Man könnte also auch sagen, dass Draschan ein Kurator mit Mitteln der Fotografie ist.”

Was ist das Besondere an deiner Arbeitsweise?

Stefan Draschan: Die Zeitspanne: ich kann eine Ewigkeit warten und dann geht es um eine 25stel Sekunde. Und der Umfang an Output ist bemerkenswert: Für „People Matching Artworks“ entstanden 1.200 Fotos, von denen natürlich nicht alle der Wahnsinn sind.

Woran arbeitest du gerade?

Stefan Draschan: Arbeiten ist für mich relativ, bei mir läuft viel im Kopf ab: Ich speichere alles Mögliche ab und dann dauert es bis sich das Puzzle zusammensetzt. Entweder habe ich zuerst ein Bild im Kopf oder träume es sogar, um dann alsbald in der Realität nachzuschauen bzw. die Chanceneinschätzung zu beurteilen. Manchmal braucht es Jahre bis das zweite Foto entsteht, und etwas zu einer Serie wird.
Seit dem Auftreten von Corona habe ich zehn verschiedene neue Serien veröffentlicht, für die ich in davor nie Zeit und Muse hatte: “People looking videos in exhibitions”, “(Almost) empty museums”, “Strassenstricher”, “Computer graveyard”, “People arguing with artworks”, “Women holding their neck while looking on …”, “Museums of water ingress / plastic buckets / waterdrops”, “People’s clothes matching seats in museums”, “Drug license plates”, “People sleeping in libraries”. Alle zehn sind vorerst als Facebook-Alben veröffentlicht, mehrere auf Instagram. Auf meine Webseite oder auf www.tumblr.com stelle ich sie erst im Laufe der Zeit.

Stefan, worauf dürfen wir uns als nächstes freuen?

Ich stelle gerade Überlegungen an, Kisten mit Memorabilia im Stil von Joseph Cornell zu erstellen: eine Capri-Kiste und eine Gmunden-Kiste gespickt mit kleinen Souvenirs, die ich von dort habe.

Hast du ein persönliches Arbeitsritual, dem du gerne folgst?

Ja, im Normalfall besuche ich alle zwei Tage ein Museum. Jetzt während der Corona-Pandemie gehe ich natürlich nicht. Solange noch Ansteckungsgefahr besteht, werde ich meine Museumsbesuche reduzieren, um anderen BesucherInnen Raum zu geben. Zuletzt habe ich gelesen, dass ins Museum Barberini in Potsdam derzeit nur ein Drittel der üblichen Besucheranzahl hinein darf.

Was ist dir an deinem Studio besonders wichtig?

Da mein Studio die Stadt ist, in der ich mich aufhalte, bzw. das Leben per se (ich fotografiere so gut wie immer und habe immer meine Kamera mit dabei), spielen hier viele Elemente zusammen. In der Stadt meiner Träume – also meinem Weltstudio – würde ich jetzt nach einem Espresso, einem Babà und von der Meeresbrise in Mergellina schwärmend eine Funicular-Fahrt auf Capri machen. Ich würde dann im Meer schwimmen, in Nizza raussteigen, frittierte Miesmuscheln (Moules frites) und Austern (huitres) essen, um danach vom Place de la Republique Éclair à la pistache essend mit dem Waffenrad an der Seine entlang zu fahren, wo ich mich entweder für das Musée d’Orsay oder das Louvre entscheiden muss. Danach genieße ich erstaunlich günstiges und fantastisches Couscous legumes im Chez Omar in der Rue de Bretagne. Abends – ach, ich bin schon alt – und denke da jetzt eher an einen Tagesausklang auf einer der autofreien Piazzas in Florenz und an die Lichtspiegelungen im Arno und das alles mit meiner Freundin, als an wilde Clubnächte auf den Hügeln von Acapulco oder der Lagoa Rio des Janeiros.

Wie beginnst du ein neues Werk?

Bei den Fotos starte ich einfach mit dem Machen, dazu muss man aber erst durch Übung “ready” werden und das abrufen können. Danach gruppiere ich die Arbeiten. Bei den Collagen und Kisten muss ich mich zuerst aufraffen und dann herumprobieren, wieder überlegen, etwas verändern, verwerfen …

Wie oder wo findest du Inspiration zu deinen Arbeiten?

So gut wie überall: in Berlin z.B. habe ich sicher schon nach eineinhalb Jahren herumradeln in Berlin-Mitte meine Lieblingsstellen entdeckt, an denen sich nach dem Regen Pfützen bilden. Wenn ich mir die Wasserspiegelungen von allen Seiten angesehen haben, sind mir immer wieder Leute begegnet, die mich gefragt haben, was ich da mache. / jetzt weniger da es ja weniger regnet als noch vor 5 Jahren)

https://stefandraschan.com/