VIENNA ART WEEK 2021 – LOSING CONTROL

House of Losing Control. A review.

Dauer der Ausstellung
13.11.202119.11.2021
House of Losing Control / Vienna Art Week 2021 © Wolfgang Thaler

Times of crisis make us nostalgic. One longs for the good old days “before the crisis”. The familiar, well-ordered status quo ante. No imponderables, no having to “drive on the lookout”. Instead: fixed routines, planning certainties, reliable horizons of meaning and expectations, in a word: control. The Corona crisis is no exception. For almost two years we have been waiting hopefully for the day when we can say: We are in control again. We have things under control again. But were we ever in control? Isn’t our belief (delusion?) that we can control things one reason why they have been turning against us more and more menacingly for some time now (and not just since 2020)?

“Losing control” was the motto of this year’s Vienna Art Week. A motto that, in view of the pandemic and climate crisis, offered a lot of room for associations and productive misunderstandings: Was it a demand? A reminder? An admission? A promise even? Of course, we didn’t really know that at first. For us, it was first of all the name of an experiment. Unlike in 2020, we had the opportunity again this year to dedicate our own – physical – exhibition to the theme of Vienna Art Week. Our vision: a House of Losing Control. We were given a site in the 20th district between Nordwestbahnhof and Augarten as an exhibition space, an extensive area with factory halls (formerly Honda Stahl), a car showroom and a dilapidated apartment building, etc., a place that, we were told, would fit our motto perfectly: The apartment building had probably been a “scene of intoxication and loss of control” several times in its history. Besides a (rather dark) club in the basement, it had also once housed a brothel. In short: the place was certainly not easy to play, but it had potential. After three intensive months, the time had come: the musty, demolished building complex had become a model of a multifunctional art venue with exhibition and event spaces, a café, a cultural and neighbourhood meeting place. The exhibition covered a broad spectrum of different artistic positions, including greats such as Cindy Sherman, Bruce Nauman and Santiago Sierra. International as well as local artists were present, some established, others still at the beginning of their careers. The show was embedded in an extensive supporting programme of guided tours, performances and discursive formats.

Hannah Neckel, Hyperherat, 2021. House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021 © Wolfgang Thaler

How does one approach such an exhibition in retrospect? How does one retrospectively lead through a House of Losing Control? According to the motto: meandering. For example – as a possible introduction – there is a small photograph by Cindy Sherman, a portrait printed on silk of a goblin-like creature with dead eyes and a wide open mouth. The work was installed somewhat off to the side in a small chamber in one of the factory halls, a set-up that invited one to surrender completely to the pull of this peculiar portrait.

Sherman’s work exemplifies a central thematic strand in the House of Losing Control: loss of control as a cipher for the dissolution of the self. A – one suspects – paradoxical phenomenon: dissolving oneself, transgressing the boundaries of the self, can be a liberation; but it can also (as in Sherman’s case) mean the irrevocable loss of the self, the complete surrender of autonomy and self-control. Not far from Cindy Sherman’s “O.T.”, this ambivalence came to the fore even more clearly in a sculpture by Erwin Wurm from his series “Psycho”. We see the image of a hunched human figure lying backwards on the floor. She is wearing a kind of straitjacket that covers almost her entire body. Whether she is trying to free herself from the textile or, on the contrary, is digging into it with relish, is not clear. We don’t know: Is the sight of this bizarre giant baby touching or simply disturbing? Or both?

It becomes even more diffuse and dangerous when one enters the terrain of lust and sexuality. Eloquent testimony to this – literally – was given at the House of Losing Control by, among others, a video work by the Mexican artist Larissa Escobedo: A pair of moist, glistening lips can be seen in close-up, smacking lustily as they inform us of the sexual preferences and escapades of their owner (the artist?). An encounter as beguiling as it is alienating. A somewhat more whimsical commentary on the entanglements of lust and control was formulated by Xenia Lesniewski and Norman Hildebrandt with their site-specific work “I Got 5 On It” (installed in the former brothel premises in the apartment building), a dildo cabinet that invited us to explore the amazingly rich variety of colours, shapes and sizes of the sex article.

Erwin Wurm, Big Gulp Lying (Psychos), 2010. House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021 © Wolfgang Thaler
Cindy Sherman, O.T., 2019. House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021
VIENNA ART WEEK 2021: House of Losing Control (press preview, 12.11.2021) Fotos: eSeL.at - Lorenz Seidler
Negra Bernhard, printf (''Hello World\n’'), 2021, House of Losing Control © Tom Poe
Hana Usui, Fukushima - 10 Years Later, 2019. House of Losing Control © Tom Poe
Xenia Lesniewski + Norman Hildebrandt I Got 5 On It, 2021, House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021

Apart from these rather intimate discussions of the loss of control, which focus on the subjective, another facet of the theme played a role in the House of Losing Control: loss of control as a pattern of interpretation for the crises that are currently shaping our lives. The spectrum of topics ranged from the difficult handling of traumatic pasts (Ramesh Daha, Isidora Krstic) to questions of cultural and political visibility (or making invisible: Jyoti Mistry) to what is probably the most urgent problem of our time – the climate and environmental crisis. Particularly haunting and touching in this context: the animated film “Fragile” by Danish artist Steffen Jorgenson. On paper, it reads like a bad joke: various animals – horse, pig, chicken and fly – perform Sting’s world hit “Fragile” together. Sounds quirky? It is – but without the message of the work (which, by the way, is perfectly crafted and produced with great attention to detail) ever tipping over into the ridiculous. On the contrary, the animals sing with a fervour that affects: “On and on the rain will say / how fragile we are, how fragile we are.” Viennese artist Christoph Weber also offered an interesting perspective on the fault lines between humans and nature with his installation “Not Yet Titled”: In a complicated experimental arrangement, Weber had a limestone collide with a concrete block. The result could be seen in the backyard of the House of Losing Control. It is not necessary to say which of the two materials – natural or manufactured – proved to be the more robust in this endurance test. In a trial of strength with nature, Weber reminds us, man is at a disadvantage in the long run.

Christoph Weber, Not Yet Titled,, 2021, House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021 © eSeL.at - Lorenz Seidler

There are countless other works worth mentioning. This supplement can only shed some light on the show. It cannot reconstruct it. 80 artists were represented in the House of Losing Control – 80 attempts to find an answer to the question of what it means when control over our lives, our institutions, our economy and our environment slips away. The image left behind by this show is correspondingly polyphonic – and confusing. What was this exhibition? A warning sign? A utopia? A manifesto for letting go and letting fall? “People are nuts if they think they control their lives!” If it were possible to formulate something like a motto for the House of Losing Control in retrospect, it would probably be this beautiful sentence from one of Jenny Holzer’s works. A “truism”? Certainly. And a rather grim one at that; but also – a truth. Perhaps it is time to take it more to heart.

Robert Bodnar,
Eugenio Merino & Santiago Sierra, THE NINOT BURNING, 2021. House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021
Dejana Kabiljo, Buidlings/Sugarcubes, 2021, House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021 © Wolfgang Thaler
VIENNA ART WEEK 2021: House of Losing Control (press preview, 12.11.2021) Fotos: eSeL.at - Lorenz Seidler
VIENNA ART WEEK 2021: House of Losing Control (Opening, 12.11.2021) Fotos: eSeL.at - Lorenz Seidler

VIENNA ART WEEK 2021 - LOSING CONTROL

House of Losing Control. Ein Rückblick

Dauer der Ausstellung
13.11.202119.11.2021
House of Losing Control / Vienna Art Week 2021 © Wolfgang Thaler

Krisenzeiten stimmen nostalgisch. Man sehnt sich zurück nach der guten alten Zeit „vor der Krise“. Dem wohlvertrauten, wohl geordneten Status quo ante. Keine Unwägbarkeiten, kein „Auf-Sicht-Fahren“-Müssen. Stattdessen: feste Routinen, Planungssicherheiten, verlässliche Sinn- und Erwartungshorizonte, mit einem Wort: Kontrolle. Die Coronakrise bildet da freilich keine Ausnahme. Seit annähernd zwei Jahren warten wir hoffnungsvoll auf den Tag, an dem wir sagen können: Wir sind wieder Herr der Lage. Wir haben die Dinge wieder im Griff. Aber hatten wir das je – die Dinge im Griff? Ist unser Glaube (unser Wahn?), die Dinge kontrollieren zu können, nicht ein Grund, weshalb sie sich seit einiger Zeit (und nicht erst seit 2020) immer bedrohlicher gegen uns kehren?

„Losing control“ lautete das Motto der diesjährigen Vienna Art Week. Ein Motto, das angesichts von Pandemie und Klimakrise viel Raum für Assoziationen und produktive Missverständnisse bot: War es eine Forderung? Eine Mahnung? Ein Eingeständnis? Ein Versprechen gar? So richtig wussten wir das anfangs natürlich auch nicht. Für uns war es zunächst einmal der Name für ein Experiment. Anders als 2020 hatten wir dieses Jahr wieder die Möglichkeit, dem Thema der Vienna Art Week eine eigene – physische – Ausstellung zu widmen. Unsere Vision: ein House of Losing Control. Als Ausstellungsfläche war uns ein Gelände im 20. Bezirk zwischen Nordwestbahnhof und Augarten zur Verfügung gestellt worden, ein weitläufiges Areal mit Werkhallen (ehemals Honda Stahl), einem Autosalon und einem baufälligen Zinshaus etc., ein Ort, der, wie es hieß, perfekt zu unserem Motto passen sollte: Das Zinshaus war wohl schon mehrfach in seiner Geschichte ein „Schauplatz von Rausch und Kontrollverlust“ gewesen. Neben einem (ziemlich düsteren) Club im Keller hatte es auch mal ein Bordell beherbergt. Kurzum: Der Ort war gewiss nicht leicht zu bespielen, hatte aber Potential. Nach drei intensiven Monaten war es dann soweit: Aus dem muffigen, abrissreifen Gebäudekomplex war das Modell eines multifunktionalen Kunstorts mit Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsräumen, Café, Kultur- und Nachbarschaftstreff geworden. Die Ausstellung umfasste ein breites Spektrum unterschiedlicher künstlerischer Positionen, darunter auch Größen wie Cindy Sherman, Bruce Nauman, Santiago Sierra. Internationale wie lokale Künstler:innen waren dabei, einige etabliert, andere noch am Beginn ihrer Karriere. Eingebettet war die Show in ein umfangreiches Rahmenprogramm aus Führungen, Performances und diskursiven Formaten.

Hannah Neckel, Hyperherat, 2021. House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021 © Wolfgang Thaler

Wie nähert man sich einer solchen Ausstellung in der Rückschau? Wie führt man retrospektiv durch ein House of Losing Control? Dem Motto entsprechend: mäandernd. Da wäre zum Beispiel – als möglicher Einstieg – eine kleine Fotografie von Cindy Sherman, das auf Seide bedruckte Porträt eines koboldhaften Wesens mit toten Augen und weit aufgerissenem Mund. Die Arbeit war etwas abseitig in einer kleinen Kammer in einer der Werkhallen installiert, ein Set-up, das dazu einlud, sich ganz der Sogkraft dieses eigentümlichen Porträts hinzugeben.

Shermans Arbeit steht beispielhaft für einen zentralen thematischen Strang im House of Losing Control: Kontrollverlust als Chiffre für die Auflösung des Selbst. Ein – man ahnt es – paradoxes Phänomen: Sich aufzulösen, die Grenzen des eigenen Ichs zu überschreiten, kann eine Befreiung sein; es kann (wie bei Sherman) ebenso aber auch den unwiderruflichen Verlust des Ichs, die völlige Preisgabe von Autonomie und Selbstkontrolle bedeuten. Unweit von Cindy Shermans „O.T.“ kam diese Ambivalenz noch deutlicher zur Geltung, in einer Skulptur von Erwin Wurm aus dessen Serie „Psycho“. Wir sehen das Bild einer rücklings am Boden liegenden zusammengekrümmten menschlichen Gestalt. Sie trägt eine Art Zwangsjacke, die beinahe ihren gesamten Körper umspannt. Ob sie sich aus dem Textil zu befreien versucht oder, im Gegenteil, sich lustvoll darin eingräbt, ist nicht eindeutig auszumachen. Wir wissen nicht: Ist der Anblick dieses bizarren Riesen-Babys anrührend oder schlicht verstörend? Oder beides?

Noch diffuser und gefährlicher wird es, wenn man sich auf das Terrain von Lust und Sexualität begibt. Beredtes Zeugnis – buchstäblich – legte davon im House of Losing Control u.a. eine Videoarbeit der mexikanischen Künstlerin Larissa Escobedo ab: Zu sehen ist ein feucht glänzendes Lippenpaar in Großaufnahme, das uns lustvoll schmatzend über die sexuellen Vorlieben und Eskapaden seiner Inhaberin (der Künstlerin?) aufklärt. Eine ebenso betörende wie befremdende Begegnung. Einen etwas launigeren Kommentar zu den Verstrickungen von Lust und Kontrolle formulierten Xenia Lesniewski und Norman Hildebrandt mit ihrer ortsspezifischen (in den ehemaligen Bordellräumlichkeiten im Zinshaus installierten) Arbeit „I Got 5 On It“, ein Dildo-Kabinett, das zur Erkundung der verblüffend reichen Farb-, Formen- und Größenvielfalt des Sexartikels einlud.

Erwin Wurm, Big Gulp Lying (Psychos), 2010. House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021 © Wolfgang Thaler
Cindy Sherman, O.T., 2019. House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021
MUME: Loosening Control, House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021. © eSeL.at - Lorenz Seidler
Negra Bernhard, printf (''Hello Worldn’'), 2021, House of Losing Control © Tom Poe
Hana Usui, Fukushima - 10 Years Later, 2019. House of Losing Control © Tom Poe
Xenia Lesniewski + Norman Hildebrandt I Got 5 On It, 2021, House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021

Abseits dieser eher intimen, auf die Seite des Subjektiven fokussierenden Auseinandersetzungen mit dem Kontrollverlust spielte im House of Losing Control aber noch eine andere Facette des Themas eine Rolle: Kontrollverlust als Deutungsmuster für die Krisen, die derzeit unser Leben prägen. Das Themenspektrum reichte hier von dem schwierigen Umgang mit traumatischen Vergangenheiten (Ramesch Daha, Isidora Krstic) über Fragen kultureller und politischer Sichtbarkeit (bzw. Unsichtbarmachung: Jyoti Mistry) bis zu hin zu der – wohl drängendsten Problematik unserer Zeit – der Klima- und Umweltkrise. Besonders eindringlich und berührend in diesem Kontext: der Animationsfilm „Fragile“ des dänischen Künstlers Steffen Jorgenson. Auf dem Papier liest es sich wie ein schlechter Scherz: Verschiedene Tiere – Pferd, Schwein, Huhn und Fliege – performen gemeinsam Stings Welthit „Fragile“. Klingt schrullig? Ist es auch – allerdings ohne, dass die Message der (übrigens handwerklich perfekt und mit viel Liebe zum Detail produzierten) Arbeit jemals ins Lächerliche kippen würde. Im Gegenteil, die Tiere singen mit einer Inbrunst, die betroffen macht: „On and on the rain will say / how fragile we are, how fragile we are.“ Eine interessante Perspektive auf die Verwerfungen zwischen Mensch und Natur bot auch der Wiener Künstler Christoph Weber mit seiner Installation „Not Yet Titled“: In einer komplizierten Versuchsanordnung hatte Weber einen Kalkstein mit einem Betonklotz kollidieren lassen. Das Ergebnis konnte im Hinterhof des House of Losing Control besichtigt werden. Unnötig zu sagen, welcher der beiden Stoffe – Werk- oder Naturstoff –, sich bei diesem Härtetest als der robustere erwies. Im Kräftemessen mit der Natur, erinnert uns Weber, hat der Mensch langfristig das Nachsehen.

Christoph Weber, Not Yet Titled,, 2021, House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021 © eSeL.at - Lorenz Seidler

Es gäbe noch unzählige andere Arbeiten, die es wert wären genannt zu werden. Dieser Nachtrag kann nur einige Schlaglichter auf die Show werfen. Rekonstruieren kann er sie nicht. 80 Künstler:innen waren im House of Losing Control vertreten – 80 Versuche, eine Antwort auf die Frage zu finden, was es heißt, wenn uns die Kontrolle über unser Leben, unsere Institutionen, unsere Ökonomie und Umwelt entgleitet. Entsprechend vielstimmig – und verwirrend – ist denn auch das Bild, das von dieser Show zurückbleibt. Was war diese Ausstellung? Ein Warnzeichen? Eine Utopie? Ein Manifest fürs Los- und Fallenlassen? »People are nuts if they think they control their lifes!« Gelte es rückblickend so etwas wie einen Wahlspruch für das House of Losing Control zu formulieren, dann wäre es wahrscheinlich dieser schöne Satz aus einer Arbeit Jenny Holzers. Ein „Truism“? Gewiss. Und noch dazu ein ziemlich grimmiger; aber eben auch – eine Wahrheit. Vielleicht ist es an der Zeit, sie mehr zu beherzigen.

Robert Bodnar, Heliocentric, House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021 © eSeL.at/Lorenz Seidler
Eugenio Merino & Santiago Sierra, THE NINOT BURNING, 2021. House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021
Dejana Kabiljo, Buidlings/Sugarcubes, 2021, House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021 © Wolfgang Thaler
Anneliese Schrenk, Ohne Worte (Immer öfer fangen meine Gedanken die Vorstellung ein, dass Pflanzen, Dinge, Räume, und Tiere die Zartheit der Menschen vermissen), 2021, House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021 © eSeL.at - Lorenz Seidler
Mathias Hanin, Decomposition, 2021 House of Losing Control/Vienna Art Week 2021 © eSeL.at - Lorenz Seidler