Vienna Art WeekNews

Too Good to be Real

Salomon Weininger, 1827 Ungarisch-Hradisch – 1879 Stein(?) Reliquiar mit einem Dorn der Krone Christi; Fälschung; Original: London, British Museum, Waddesdon Bequest 1860/70 H. 30,3 cm; B. 13,1 cm; T. 7,5 cm, Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien

Vienna was home to an elaborate forgery ring in the 19th century. Its mechanisms were not unlike those we see today.

Authenticity is a key criterion in art valuation, but what happens when an imitation is too good to be real? Skilled imitators and fraudulent forgers have been deceiving connoisseurs since antiquity, and were often lauded by their contemporaries. A person listening to Paulus Rainer could be forgiven for thinking he was talking not about historical episodes, but about more current forgery scandals like the one involving Wolfgang Beltracchi, the German forgery painter turned “star.”
Rainer is curator of the Imperial Treasury and Kunstkammer Wien, both part of the Kunsthistorisches Museum. Even Benvenuto Cellini (1500–1571), creator of the Kunstkammer’s most celebrated object, the “Cellini Salt Cellar,” once boasted of imitating antique pieces so closely that his copies were nearly indistinguishable from the real thing. While Cellini was probably just eager to promote his artistic skills, a certain Salomon Weininger (whose activities Rainer has researched in detail) acted with more criminal zeal in 19th-century Vienna. According to the curator, 14 objects from the Imperial Treasury are now known to be late-19th-century creations that Weininger skillfully sold as “medieval” objects to collectors and curators.

Born in what is now Slovakia in 1822, Weininger later settled in Krems and then in Vienna. He did not forge the coveted reliquaries, statuettes of saints, or house altars himself but was, in essence, an antiques dealer and a gifted networker who could skillfully exploit the historicist era’s enthusiasm for anything old.
Museum object copies were considered very valuable at that time, as the educated elite regarded them as a way to elevate general taste and train artisans. Museums – including the Museum für Kunst und Industrie, now MAK Vienna – willingly released objects from their collections for this purpose. “It was a short step from legal copying in the spirit of historical imitation to imitation as fraudulent forgery, and Weininger initially moved in a grey area between these two poles,” Rainer wrote in an essay published in 2008.
Weininger’s abandonment of legitimate copying was discovered in 1876: two court cases proved that the dealer had taken objects from the Duke of Modena’s palace in Vienna’s third district for over four years to “copy” them, but had returned the forgeries to the collection instead of the originals. This was possible because Franz von Discart, curator of Palais Modena, was in cahoots with Weininger. Weininger was also found to have sold two fake household altarpieces. Authenticity was constructed using elements of a necklace stolen from Count Daun and an invented provenance guaranteed by an aristocratic acquaintance of Weininger’s.

The craftsmen put to work for parts of the alleged medieval and Renaissance objects weren’t even aware that they were working on a swindle, Rainer explains, as “Weininger cleverly distributed the work among several people.” The artisans themselves could not be condemned for making copies using plaster casts or photographs, and members of the court boasted “that here in Vienna we have artists capable of making imitations so completely on a par with their colleagues from the time of the originals.” Modern-day experts can quickly identify the 19th century creations thanks to the coloring of certain enamel parts, for example.

 

And yet the taste of the times blinded many a connoisseur in those days: individual collectors like the Rothschilds were powerful role models, and historical objects were often fitted with contemporary additions to suit the predominant taste. Forgeries are being discovered even now, Rainer says. Of course, Weininger wasn’t the only one who circulated fakes. As for the experts that enabled forgers, Rainer notes that there were bad actors then as now. “But we also shouldn’t forget that you always needed experts to clear things up.”

Michael Huber

Paulus Rainer:
Paulus Rainer studied art history in Innsbruck and Vienna. Since 2004 he has been a research assistant at the Kunsthistorisches Museum, where he was instrumental in the Kunstkammer’s reconfiguration and curated numerous treasure art exhibitions. In 2017 he based his dissertation on facets of Habsburg collecting using the Kunsthistorisches Museum’s Kunstkammer collection and the Imperial Treasury as a primary source.

Vienna Art WeekNews

Zu schön, um wahr zu sein

Salomon Weininger, 1827 Ungarisch-Hradisch – 1879 Stein(?) Reliquiar mit einem Dorn der Krone Christi; Fälschung; Original: London, British Museum, Waddesdon Bequest 1860/70 H. 30,3 cm; B. 13,1 cm; T. 7,5 cm, Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien

Ein elaboriertes Fälschernetzwerk trieb im Wien des 19. Jahrhunderts sein Unwesen. Die Mechanismen ähnelten denen von heute.

Das Kriterium der Echtheit ist für die Wertschätzung von Kunst von zentraler Bedeutung – doch was passiert, wenn eine Nachahmung zu schön ist, um wahr zu sein? Fälle, in denen kunstfertige Imitatoren und betrügerische Fälscher Kenner täuschten, begegnen seit der Antike immer wieder, und nicht selten erhielten diese Beifall von ihren Zeitgenossen. Wenn man Paulus Rainer zuhört, wirkt es bisweilen so, als würde er nicht von historischen Episoden, sondern von den jüngsten Fälscherskandalen wie jenem um Wolfgang Beltracchi erzählen.

Rainer ist Kurator für die Kaiserliche Schatzkammer und die Kunstkammer Wien, die beide zum Verbund des Kunsthistorischen Museums zählen. Bereits der Schöpfer des berühmtesten Kunstkammer-Objekts, der „Saliera“, rühmte sich einst, Antiken täuschend echt nachgemacht zu haben: Benvenuto Cellini (1500–1571) wollte damit wohl seine eigene Kunstfertigkeit betonen. Mit mehr krimineller Energie agierte aber ein gewisser Salomon Weininger im Wien des 19. Jahrhunderts, dessen Umtriebe Rainer im Detail erforscht hat. 14 Objekte der Kaiserlichen Schatzkammer, sagt der Kurator, sind heute als Kreationen aus dem späten 19. Jahrhundert bekannt, die Weininger Sammlern und Kuratoren Kustoden geschickt als „mittelalterliche“ Objekte unterjubelte.

Dabei fälschte der 1822 in der heutigen Slowakei geborene, später in Krems und dann in Wien ansässige Weininger die begehrten Reliquiare, Heiligenstatuetten oder Hausaltäre gar nicht selbst: Im Kern war er Antiquitätenhändler und begnadeter Netzwerker, der die Begeisterung der historistischen Epoche für alles Alte geschickt auszunutzen wusste.

Nachahmungen musealer Objekte wurden damals sehr geschätzt, galten sie der Bildungselite doch als Mittel, den allgemeinen Geschmack zu heben und Kunsthandwerker zu schulen. Museen – darunter das Museum für Kunst und Industrie, heute MAK Wien – gaben dafür bereitwillig Objekte ihrer Sammlung frei. „Der Schritt von der legalen Kopiertätigkeit im Sinne historistischer Nachahmung hin zur Imitation als betrügerischer Fälschung war ein kleiner, und Weininger bewegte sich zunächst in einem Graubereich, der zwischen diesen beiden Polen lag“, schrieb Rainer in einem 2008 publizierten Aufsatz.

Weiningers Abkehr vom legitimen Kopieren flog 1876 auf: In zwei Gerichtsprozessen wurde dem Händler nachgewiesen, dass er aus dem Palast Palais des Herzogs von Modena im dritten Wiener Gemeindebezirk über vier Jahre hinweg Objekte „zur Nachahmung“ entnommen, statt der Originale aber die Fälschungen an die Sammlung retourniert hatte. Möglich war dies, weil der Kustos des Palais Modena, Franz von Discart, mit Weininger unter einer Decke steckte. Darüber hinaus wurde Weininger auch der Verkauf zweier gefälschter Hausaltäre nachgewiesen. Mit Elementen einer Kette, die dem Grafen Daun gestohlen worden war, und einer erfundenen Provenienz, für die ein adeliger Bekannter Weiningers bürgte, hatte man Echtheit konstruiert.

Den Kunsthandwerkern, die die Teile für die angeblichen Mittelalter- und Renaissanceobjekte fertigten, war teils gar nicht bewusst, dass sie an einem Schwindel mitarbeiteten, erklärt Rainer: „Weininger hat die Arbeit sehr geschickt auf mehrere Leute verteilt.“ Kopien nach Gipsabgüssen oder Fotos anzufertigen war für Kunsthandwerker nicht weiter verwerflich, und noch im Gerichtsprozess rühmte man sich, „dass wir hier in Wien für die Anfertigung von Imitationen Künstler besitzen, die ihre Collegen aus der Zeit der Originale vollständig erreichen“. Heute erkennt der Experte – etwa anhand der Farbgebung gewisser Emailteile – rasch die Kreationen des 19. Jahrhunderts.

In der Zeit jedoch machte der dominante Geschmack so manchen Connaisseur blind: Einzelne Sammler wie die Rothschilds übten starke Vorbildwirkung aus, nicht selten wurden historische Objekte mit zeitgenössischen Ergänzungen auf diesen Geschmack hin getrimmt. Bis heute, sagt Rainer, werden Objekte enttarnt. Freilich war Weininger nicht der Einzige, der Unechtes in Umlauf brachte. Über Experten, die Fälschern aufsaßen, ergoss sich damals wie heute Häme, bestätigt Rainer. „Doch man darf nicht vergessen: Man hat immer auch Experten gebraucht, um solche Dinge aufzuklären.“

Michael Huber

Paulus Rainer:
Paulus Rainer studierte Kunstgeschichte in Innsbruck und Wien. Seit 2004 ist er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Kunsthistorischen Museum, wo er maßgeblich an der Neuaufstellung der Kunstkammer mitwirkte und zahlreiche Ausstellungen zur Schatzkunst kuratierte. 2017 dissertierte er über Facetten des habsburgischen Sammelwesens anhand der Bestände der Kunstkammer und der Schatzkammer des Kunsthistorischen