EXPLORE VIENNA

A gallery tour through downtown Vienna

Tour 1: Croy Nielsen – Sophie Tappeiner – Layr – Krinzinger – Wonnerth Dejaco

Extra info

A gallery tour with Maria Christine Holter.
Maria Christine Holter is art historian and curator for contemporary art in Vienna
www.mariaholter.at

Courtesy Galerie Krinzinger

The starting point of our tour to five top galleries for contemporary art in the heart of Vienna’s city center – situated between Stadtpark and the old town quarter southeast of Kärntner Straße – is the gallery CROY NIELSEN, which is still relatively new in Vienna.

CROY NIELSEN

“The programmatic orientation of our gallery has grown organically over the years and is shaped by personal preferences, but above all by the artistic environment.”

When Henrikke Nielsen and Oliver Croy moved their operations from Berlin to Vienna in 2016 to the Beletage of Palais Dumba on Parkring, they took both continuity and the local context of the Viennese art scene into account. Of the around 20 artistic positions – all of international standing – Nina Beier and Benoît Maire should be mentioned here, who have been represented by CROY NIELSEN since the early days in Berlin. The years in Vienna brought additions such as “local heroine” Elke Silvia Krystufek, but also international artists of the younger generation, who mainly live and work in Vienna, such as Birke Gorm, Nicolas Jasmin or Soshiro Matsubara.

“The fact that we went to Vienna had less to do with the conditions in Berlin than with the potential we see in Vienna. We keep a very close eye on what’s happening here, including at the neighboring University of Applied Arts and the Academy on Schillerplatz.”

Asked about the digitalization push (CROY NIELSEN were co-initiators of the Covid-19-conditioned and purely virtual Interconti Wien fair in January 2021), Henrikke Nielsen remarks: “What has become apparent recently – in addition to the high acceptance of digital offerings – is that the desire to visit galleries has increased again. Because the international fairs have largely been cancelled, our collectors (including those from abroad) have become more attentive to the exhibitions that have taken place in the gallery meanwhile.”

croynielsen.com

1010 Wien, Parkring 4

Henrikke Nielsen, Photo: Daniel Castells
Croy Nielsen

Following the Parkring in direction of the Opera House, we turn right into Liebenberggasse, where the legendary Gartenbaukino is located on the opposite corner. Continuing the alley upwards and passing Palais Coburg, it is only a few steps to the enigmatic-sounding address of our next gallery stop: An der Hülben 3. This is where the Augustinian choir women’s monastery of St. Jakob auf der Hülben was located before it was abolished by Josef II and an apartment building was built. According to historical sources, the monastery’s noble residents were highly educated, self-determined women – perhaps that’s why Grita Insam’s gallery (2005-2011) fit so well here and, since 2017, the up-and-coming gallery SOPHIE TAPPEINER.

SOPHIE TAPPEINER
“I see it as my mission to look at critical and engaged art making from the perspective of intersectional feminism and to build an audience for it.”
After this announcement by the gallery owner, who would be surprised that of the nine artistic positions currently represented according to binary gender assignments, only one belongs to a man? With Sophie Thun, Angelika Loderer, Irina Lotarevich and Jala Wahid – name just a few of the internationally well-connected female artists who consistently pursue a transmedial practice – Tappeiner holds all the trump cards that guarantee a fun, multidimensional engagement with art in appealing spaces.

“It was luck how I got this ground-floor location An der Hülben,” Sophie Tappeiner recalls: “The first time I visited the space was to participate in an Artist Lecture Series of Hans Schabus’s [University of Applied Arts] sculpture class. At that time I hadn’t even planned to open a gallery, but I liked the space so much that I made a comment to Hans about what a good ambience the light-filled room offered. When Angewandte later moved out of there and Schabus called me about it, after long negotiations with the owners, I was promised the space.”

Following her impulse and knowing herself to be in good neighborhood with the excellent galleries of the surrounding, Tappeiner opened hers in June 2017. That year, she was one of those primarily female “thirtysomethings” who dared to start a new business in this risky professional field and literally sparked a boom with it. Suddenly it was hip again to wander through galleries for a younger audience. But it is not only the newly acquired clientele that appreciates the gallery owner’s expertise; experienced visitors also like to be guided through the installation-staged exhibitions by Tappeiner personally and enjoy to be carried away by her conviction for the works of her artists.

sophietappeiner.com
1010 Wien, An der Hülben 3

Courtesy and Copyright Sophie Tappeiner
Angelika Loderer, Quiet Fonts at Sophie Tappeiner, Foto: Kunst-Dokumentation.com
Jala Wahid, Newroz, installation view, Sophie Tappeiner, 2019, Foto: Kunst-Dokumentation.com

One of the top galleries mentioned in the immediate vicinity of Galerie SOPHIE TAPPEINER is Galerie LAYR, which is located within sight on the ground floor of the corner building Seilerstätte 2 / An der Hülben 6. The building, built in 1860 by Ferdinand Fellner in place of the old building, the house of the “Lukas Knaffel’sche Universitätsstiftung” (Lukas Knaffel’s University Foundation), true to its foundation purpose from the 17th century, is to this day the seat of several Slovenian cultural institutions and has definitely been upgraded with the Emanuel Layr Gallery forming a bridge to the present.

LAYR

“I entered the gallery business as a student because I wanted to work actively and directly with art or artists and make exhibitions, which would not have been possible so quickly in any other field – especially not in Vienna at the turn of the millennium.”

Founded together with Thomas Wüstenhagen in 2005 as Galerie LayrWüstenhagen near the Museumsquartier, it has been run by Emanuel Layr alone under the label “LAYR” since 2011. In 2015 it moved to the prestigious premises in the 1st district and since 2017 there is a branch in Rome.

As one of the few young, innovative galleries founded in Vienna at the beginning of the new millennium, Emanuel Layr has succeeded in around 15 years of gallery work internationally with his ambitious program, which includes positions such as Anna-Sophie Berger, Gaylen Gerber, Lena Henke, Nick Oberthaler or Philipp Timischl. In addition, the gallery is the exclusive representative of the already deceased Slovak neo-avant-garde artist Stano Filko and the young Belgian-American artist Cécile B. Evans.The gallery thus lives up to its claim of acting as an international hub for art of different generations and cultural or discursive backgrounds, and also addresses a similar audience. What significance would digital forms of communication have in this context?

“We see social media and other digital forms of communication as tools to convey content – as a supplement to the exhibitions and classic media such as websites, newsletters, etc. Sometimes it is possible to develop something together with the artists in these places, but otherwise we resort to photography and video documentation for this purpose. The fact that, for example, podcasts and videos can be produced easily and by oneself, of course helps to spread the exhibitions faster and further…”

emanuellayr.com
1010 Wien, Seilerstätte 2

Emanuel Layr, Photo: Katarina Šoškić
Lena Henke, Babysteps into Masochism, 2020, Installation view, LAYR, Vienna, Courtesy of the artist and LAYR, Vienna
Gaylen Gerber, 2020, Installation view, LAYR, Vienna. Photos: Gaylen Gerber and Paul Levack Courtesy of the artist and LAYR, Vienna

A few steps from LAYR, down Seilerstätte in the direction of Schwarzenbergplatz, lies the former Ronacher establishment, today the musical venue of Vereinigte Bühnen Wien, and to the right vis a vis, on the corner of Himmelpfortgasse, the “Residenzhof”, also built by the architects Fellner & Helmer. The state rooms of Seilerstätte 16 housed the officers’ casino of the Residenz Club at the time of its founding and have been the home of one of Austria’s most renowned galleries since 1986, the Galerie KRINZINGER.

KRINZINGER
“When I started here in the 1980s, there were basically only us three women in this area.” …
… Ursula Krinzinger tells us, referring to Rosemarie Schwarzwälder (Galerie nächst St. Stephan), Grita Insam, the gallery owner who passed away in 2012, and herself. “Back then, we shared everything in terms of know-how with each other, supported each other, the idea of competition was far from our minds. Today there is a very different pressure in the ever-changing field and the global art market that has become almost unwieldy. The future will show, but I have a feeling that the pandemic will bring us closer together again in this quarter.”
Founded in Vienna in 1986 by art historian Dr. Ursula Krinzinger after Bregenz and Innsbruck (1971 and 1972, respectively) and run jointly with her son Thomas since 2021, the gallery focuses on performative and body-based artistic practices. Starting with Viennese Actionism, through the groundbreaking performances of the young Marina Abramović, first presented in Innsbruck as early as 1975, to the U.S. artists Chris Burden and Mike Kelley, known only to a specialist audience in Austria in the early 1990s, the gallery quickly established itself as one of the top addresses of its kind.
“In nearly 500 exhibitions, numerous symposia, guest curations and residencies, we have managed to position Austrian art internationally and bring international greats to Vienna,” Ursula and Thomas Krinzinger are pleased to say.
The list of artists, which also includes national and international artists of the younger generation, reads like a Who’s Who of contemporary art and yet reflects the close personal relationship, the intensive exchange between the two gallery owners and their artists. Mother and son agree that the concept of the gallery on Seilerstätte and that of the “experimental field” KRINZINGER PROJEKTE in Schottenfeldgasse, which has existed since 2002, will continue to be fully exploited and accepted in the future.

galerie-krinzinger.at
1010, Seilerstätte 16

Courtesy Galerie Krinzinger

Walking along Weihburggasse towards Kärntnerstraße, we visit the newcomer among Vienna’s inner city galleries as the last highlight of our tour: WONNERTH DEJACO. From Franziskanerplatz, you enter through a picturesque archway into the curved Old Town alley that houses the gallery and is named after one of Vienna’s oldest ballrooms – Ballgasse.

WONNERTH DEJACO

“Our gallery should be a place of personal encounter and discourse!”

In September 2020, during the brief autumnal upheaval of the first pandemic year, Victoria Dejaco and Michael Wonnerth-Magnusson opened their gallery space in the courtyard section of the late Baroque bourgeois house “Zum alten Blumenstock” at Ballgasse 6, which had already been home to the legendary Galerie Peter Pakesch in the 1980s. After years of working or curating for galleries, art associations and collections, the two art historians decided to make common cause: founding a gallery that focuses on dialogue, appreciation and professionalism in a personal atmosphere.

As soon as you enter the Pawlatschen-decorated courtyard, your gaze falls unobstructed through a large transom window onto the gallery owners’ desk. “We have deliberately set up our office to be visible to all and as a transit area – it is a multifunctional space that is a workplace, storage and the heart of communication at once”, explains neo-gallerist Victoria Dejaco.

During our conversation, there is a vividness of comings and goings. People greet each other amicably and new guests of the gallery are also introduced to each other whenever possible. For the currently seven gallery artists Philipp Fleischmann, Katharina Höglinger, Axel Koschier, Thea Moeller, Georg Petermichl, Ellen Schafer and Constanze Schweiger WONNERTH DEJACO is a kind of home base from where networking and lively discourse takes place .

Michael Wonnerth-Magnusson recalls, “From my experiences working with artists from Vienna’s vibrant off-space scene, I realized that there was an urgent need to bring more of them to the attention of a broader public – in the domestic cultural scene, but also on the international art market – … and in Victoria I found the perfect counterpart for this, because her goal is also to make a strong case for the vibrant Austrian scene, which is partly underrepresented in Vienna’s gallery landscape.

wonnerthdejaco.com
1010, Ballgasse 6

(Maria Christine Holter)

Courtesy Wonnerth Dejaco 2021, Photo: Peter Mochi
Katharina Höglinger, Zunge verlieren (losing tongue), Ausstellungsansicht, Wonnerth Dejaco, Wien 2021, courtesy Wonnerth Dejaco and the artist. Foto: Peter Mochi

EXPLORE VIENNA

Ein Galerienrundgang durch die Wiener Innenstadt

Tour 1: Croy Nielsen – Sophie Tappeiner – Layr – Krinzinger – Wonnerth Dejaco

Extra info

Ein Galerienrundgang mit Maria Christine Holter.
Maria Christine Holter ist Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin für Gegenwartskunst in Wien
www.mariaholter.at

Courtesy Galerie Krinzinger

Anfangspunkt unserer Tour zu fünf Top-Galerien für Gegenwartskunst im Herzen der Wiener Innenstadt – eingespannt zwischen Stadtpark und dem Altstadtviertel südöstlich der Kärntner Straße – ist die in Wien noch relativ neue Galerie CROY NIELSEN.

CROY NIELSEN

„Die programmatische Orientierung unserer Galerie ist über die Jahre organisch gewachsen und von persönlichen Vorlieben geprägt, vor allem aber vom künstlerischen Umfeld.“

Als Henrikke Nielsen und Oliver Croy 2016 ihre Tätigkeit von Berlin nach Wien in die Beletage des Palais Dumba am Parkring verlegten, trugen sie sowohl der Kontinuität als auch dem lokalen Kontext der Wiener Kunstszene Rechnung. Von den rund 20 künstlerischen Positionen – durchwegs internationalen Ranges – seien hier Nina Beier und Benoît Maire erwähnt, die seit den Anfängen in Berlin von CROY NIELSEN vertreten werden. Die Wiener Jahre brachten Zuwächse wie „Lokalmatadorin“ Elke Silvia Krystufek, aber auch internationale Kunstschaffende der jüngeren, vorwiegend in Wien lebenden und arbeitenden Generation wie Birke Gorm, Nicolas Jasmin oder Soshiro Matsubara.

„Dass wir nach Wien gingen, hatte weniger mit den Bedingungen in Berlin zu tun, als vielmehr mit dem Potential, das wir in Wien sehen. Wir beobachten das Geschehen hier sehr genau, auch das an der benachbarten Universität für angewandte Kunst und der Akademie am Schillerplatz.“

Auf den Digitalisierungsschub hin angesprochen (CROY NIELSEN waren Mitinitiatoren der Covid-19-bedingt rein virtuell abgewickelten Messe Interconti Wien im Jänner 2021) bemerkt Henrikke Nielsen: „Was sich in der letzten Zeit gezeigt hat, ist – neben der hohen Akzeptanz digitaler Angebote – dass die Lust an Galerienbesuchen wieder zugenommen hat. Weil die internationalen Messen ja größtenteils ausgefallen sind, wurden unsere Sammler (auch jene aus dem Ausland) aufmerksamer auf die Ausstellungen, die währenddessen in der Galerie stattgefunden haben.“

croynielsen.com
1010 Wien, Parkring 4

Henrikke Nielsen, Foto: Daniel Castells
Birke Gorm installation view common crazies, Croy Nielsen, Vienna, 2020 Foto: Kunstdokumentation.com
Soshiro Matsubara Installation view True Romance, Croy Nielsen, Vienna, 2020 Foto: Kunstdokumentation.com
Ernst Yohji Jaeger, installation view Quince Moon, Croy Nielsen, Vienna, 2021 Foto: kunst-dokumentation.com

Dem Parkring Richtung Oper folgend, biegen wir rechts in die Liebenberggasse ein, wo sich an der gegenüberliegenden Ecke das legendäre Gartenbaukino befindet. Weiter die Gasse hinauf und am Palais Coburg vorbei, sind es nur noch wenige Schritte bis zur rätselhaft klingenden Adresse unseres nächsten Galerien-Stopps: An der Hülben 3. Dort lag vor der Aufhebung durch Josef II und dem Bau eines Gründerzeitwohnhauses das Augustiner-Chorfrauenkloster St. Jakob auf der Hülben. Historischen Quellen zufolge waren die adeligen Bewohnerinnen des Klosters hochgebildete, selbstbestimmte Frauen – vielleicht passte gerade deshalb Grita Insams Galerie (2005–2011) so gut hierher und seit 2017 die aufstrebende Galerie SOPHIE TAPPEINER.

SOPHIE TAPPEINER
„Ich sehe es als meine Aufgabe, kritisches und engagiertes Kunstschaffen aus dem Blickwinkel des intersektionalen Feminismus zu betrachten und ein Publikum dafür zu gewinnen.“
Wen wundert es nach dieser Ansage der Galeristin, dass von den derzeit neun vertretenen künstlerischen Positionen nach binären Geschlechtszuweisungen nur eine die eines Mannes ist? Mit Sophie Thun, Angelika Loderer, Irina Lotarevich und Jala Wahid – um nur einige der durchwegs eine transmediale Praxis verfolgenden, international bestens vernetzten Künstlerinnen herauszugreifen – hält Tappeiner ohnehin alle Trümpfe in der Hand, die eine lustvolle, mehrdimensionale Auseinandersetzung mit Kunst in ansprechenden Räumlichkeiten garantieren.

„Es war Glück, wie ich dieses Erdgeschoß-Lokal An der Hülben bekam“, erinnert sich Sophie Tappeiner: „Das erste Mal besuchte ich den Raum, um an einer Artist Lecture Series der Skulpturenklasse von Hans Schabus [Universität für angewandte Kunst] teilzunehmen. Damals hatte ich noch gar nicht geplant, eine Galerie zu eröffnen, doch der Raum gefiel mir so gut, dass ich Hans gegenüber eine Bemerkung machte, was für ein gutes Ambiente der lichtdurchflutete Raum böte. Als die Angewandte später dort auszog und mich Schabus deswegen anrief, habe ich nach langen Verhandlungen mit den Besitzern den Raum zugesagt bekommen.“

Ihrem Impuls folgend und sich in guter Nachbarschaft mit den exzellenten Galerien dieses Viertels wissend, eröffnete Tappeiner im Juni 2017 die ihre. Sie war in diesem Jahr eine jener vornehmlich weiblichen „Thirtysomethings“, die eine Neugründung in diesem risikoreichen Berufsfeld wagten und geradezu einen Boom damit auslösten. Plötzlich war es wieder hip, für ein jüngeres Publikum durch Galerien zu streifen. Aber nicht nur die neu dazugewonnene Klientel schätzt die Expertise der Galeristin, auch erfahrene Besucherinnen und Besucher lassen sich gerne von Tappeiner persönlich durch die installativ inszenierten Ausstellungen führen und von ihrer Überzeugung für die Arbeiten ihrer Künstlerinnen und Künstler mitreißen.

sophietappeiner.com
1010 Wien, An der Hülben 3

Courtesy and Copyright Sophie Tappeiner
Angelika Loderer, Quiet Fonts at Sophie Tappeiner, Foto: Kunst-Dokumentation.com
Jala Wahid, Newroz, installation view, Sophie Tappeiner, 2019, Foto: Kunst-Dokumentation.com
Irina Lotarevich, Refinery, exhibition view, Sophie Tappeiner, 2020, Foto: Kunst-Dokumentation.com
Hadi Fallahpisheh and Kyle Thurman, CATFISH, installation view, Sophie Tappeiner, 2020, Foto: Kunst-Dokumentation.com

Eine der erwähnten Top-Galerien in unmittelbarer Nähe zur Galerie SOPHIE TAPPEINER ist die in Sichtweite befindliche Galerie LAYR im Erdgeschoß des Eckhauses Seilerstätte 2 / An der Hülben 6. Das anstelle von Altsubstanz, dem Haus der „Lukas Knaffel’sche Universitätsstiftung“, von Ferdinand Fellner 1860 errichtete Gründerzeitgebäude, ist, seinem Stiftungszweck aus dem 17. Jahrhundert treu bleibend, bis heute Sitz mehrerer Slowenischer Kulturinstitutionen und wurde mit der Galerie Emanuel Layr als Brücke in die Gegenwarts definitiv aufgewertet.

LAYR

„In das Galeriewesen bin ich schon als Student eingestiegen, weil ich aktiv und unmittelbar mit Kunst bzw. Kunstschaffenden arbeiten und Ausstellungen machen wollte, was in keinem anderem Bereich so rasch möglich gewesen wäre – vor allem nicht im Wien der Jahrtausendwende.“

Gemeinsam mit Thomas Wüstenhagen 2005 als Galerie LayrWüstenhagen in der Nähe des Museumsquartiers gegründet, wird sie von Emanuel Layr seit 2011 unter dem Label „LAYR“ alleine geführt. 2015 übersiedelte sie in die repräsentativen Räumlichkeiten im 1. Bezirk und seit 2017 gibt es eine Dependance in Rom.

Als eine der wenigen jungen, innovativen, zu Anfang des neuen Jahrtausends in Wien gegründeten Galerien, gelang es Emanuel Layr in rund 15 Jahren Galeristentätigkeit international mit seinem ambitionierten Programm zu reüssieren, das u.a. Positionen wie Anna-Sophie Berger, Gaylen Gerber, Lena Henke, Nick Oberthaler oder Philipp Timischl umfasst. Zudem ist die Galerie Exklusivvertretung des bereits verstorbenen slowakischen Neo-Avantgardisten Stano Filko und der jungen belgisch-amerikanischen Künstlerin Cécile B. Evans. Sie wird damit ihrem Anspruch, als international agierende Drehscheibe für Kunst unterschiedlicher Generationen und kultureller oder diskursiver Hintergründe zu wirken, gerecht und richtet sich auch an ein ebensolches Publikum.Welchen Stellenwert in der Vermittlung dabei digitale Kommunikationsformen einnähmen?

„Social Media und andere digitale Kommunikationsformen sehen wir als Tools um Inhalte zu vermitteln – als Ergänzung zu den Ausstellungen und klassischen Medien wie Webseite, Newsletter, etc. Manchmal ist es möglich, an diesen Orten gemeinsam mit den Kunstschaffenden etwas zu entwickeln, aber sonst greifen wir hierfür auf Fotografie und Videodokumentation zurück. Dass man beispielsweise Podcasts und Videos einfach und selbst produzieren kann, hilft natürlich die Ausstellungen schneller und weiter zu verbreiten…“

emanuellayr.com
1010 Wien, Seilerstätte 2

Emanuel Layr, Foto: Katarina Šoškić
Lena Henke, Babysteps into Masochism, 2020, Installation view, LAYR, Vienna, Courtesy of the artist and LAYR, Vienna
Gaylen Gerber, 2020, Installation view, LAYR, Vienna. Photos: Gaylen Gerber and Paul Levack Courtesy of the artist and LAYR, Vienna

Wenige Schritte von LAYR, die Seilerstätte hinunter Richtung Schwarzenbergplatz, liegt das ehemalige Etablissement Ronacher, heute Musicalspielstätte der Vereinigten Bühnen Wien, und rechts vis a vis, an der Ecke zur Himmelpfortgasse, der ebenfalls von den Architekten Fellner & Helmer erbaute „Residenzhof“. Die Prunkräume der Seilerstätte 16 beherbergten zur Gründerzeit das Offizierscasino des Residenz Clubs und sind seit 1986 „Spielstätte“ für eine der renommiertesten Galerien Österreichs, der Galerie KRINZINGER.

KRINZINGER
„Als ich hier in den 1980er-Jahren anfing, gab es in diesem Grätzl im Grunde nur uns drei Frauen.“ …
… erzählt Ursula Krinzinger und meint damit Rosemarie Schwarzwälder (Galerie nächst St. Stephan), Grita Insam, die 2012 verstorbene Galeristin, und sich. „Wir haben damals alles an Knowhow miteinander geteilt, uns gegenseitig unterstützt, der Konkurrenzgedanke lag uns fern. Heute gibt es einen ganz anderen Druck in dem sich ständig wandelnden Feld und dem fast unüberschaubar gewordenen globalen Kunstmarkt. Man wird sehen, aber ich habe das Gefühl, dass die Pandemie uns in diesem Viertel wieder mehr zusammenrücken lassen wird.“
Die von der Kunsthistorikerin Dr. Ursula Krinzinger nach Bregenz und Innsbruck(1971 bzw. 1972) 1986 in Wien gegründete und seit 2021 gemeinsam mit Sohn Thomas geführte Galerie legt ihren Fokus auf performative und körperbezogene künstlerische Praktiken. Ausgehend vom Wiener Aktionismus über die bahnbrechenden Performances der bereits 1975 in Innsbruck erstmals präsentierten jungen Marina Abramović bis zu den in Österreich Anfang der 1990er-Jahre nur einem Fachpublikum bekannten US-Künstlern Chris Burden und Mike Kelley, etablierte sich die Galerie rasch zu einer der ersten Adressen dieser Art.
„In nahezu 500 Ausstellungen, zahlreichen Symposien, Gastkurationen und Residencies haben wir es geschafft, die österreichische Kunst international zu positionieren und internationale Größen nach Wien zu bringen“, freuen sich Ursula und Thomas Krinzinger.
Die auch nationale und internationale Kunstschaffende der jüngeren Generation aufweisende Künstlerliste liest sich wie ein Who‘s who der Gegenwartskunst und spiegelt dennoch das persönliche Naheverhältnis, den intensiven Austausch der beiden Galeristen mit ihren Künstlerinnen und Künstlern wider. Mutter und Sohn sind sich einig, dass das Konzept der Galerie auf der Seilerstätte und jenes des seit 2002 existierenden „Experimentierfelds“ KRINZINGER PROJEKTE in der Schottenfeldgasse auch in Zukunft voll ausgeschöpft und angenommen werden wird.

galerie-krinzinger.at
1010, Seilerstätte 16

Courtesy Galerie Krinzinger
Monica Bonvicini in der Gruppenausstellung to a passer by, 2019, courtesy Galerie Krinzinger an, d the artist
Fluxus ABC, 2019/2020, courtesy Galerie Krinzinger and the artist
Secundino Hernánedez, One More Time is good enough, 2019, courtesy Galerie Krinzinger and the artist

Die Weihburggasse Richtung Kärntnerstraße spazierend, besuchen wir als letztes Highlight unserer Tour die Newcomerin unter den Wiener Innenstadt-Galerien: WONNERTH DEJACO. Vom Franziskanerplatz her gelangt man durch einen pittoresken Torbogen in das gekrümmte Altstadtgässchen, das die Galerie beherbergt und nach einem der ältesten Ballspielhäuser Wiens benannt ist – die Ballgasse.

WONNERTH DEJACO

„Unsere Galerie soll ein Ort der persönlichen Begegnung und des Diskurses sein!“

Im September 2020, während der kurzen herbstlichen Aufbruchstimmung des ersten Pandemie-Jahres, eröffneten Victoria Dejaco und Michael Wonnerth-Magnusson ihre Galerieräumlichkeiten im Hofteil des spätbarocken Bürgerhauses „Zum alten Blumenstock“ in der Ballgasse 6, welches in den 1980er-Jahren schon die legendäre Galerie Peter Pakesch beheimatet hatte. Nachdem die beiden Kunsthistoriker jahrelang für Galerien, Kunstvereine und Sammlungen gearbeitet oder kuratiert hatten, beschlossen sie, gemeinsame Sache zu machen: die Gründung einer Galerie, die auf Dialog, Wertschätzung und Professionalität in einer persönlichen Atmosphäre setzt.

Schon beim Betreten des Pawlatschen-geschmückten Innenhofes fällt der Blick ungehindert durch ein großes Sprossenfenster auf den Schreibtisch der Galeristen. „Wir haben unser Büro bewusst für alle einsichtig und als Durchgangsbereich eingerichtet – es ist ein multifunktionaler Raum, der zugleich Arbeitsplatz, Lager und Herz der Kommunikation ist“, erläutert Neogaleristin Victoria Dejaco.

Während unseres Gesprächs findet ein reges Kommen und Gehen statt. Man grüßt sich freundschaftlich und auch neue Gäste der Galerie werden einander nach Möglichkeit vorgestellt. Für die derzeit sieben Galeriekünstlerinnen und -künstler Philipp Fleischmann, Katharina Höglinger, Axel Koschier, Thea Moeller, Georg Petermichl, Ellen Schafer und Constanze Schweiger ist WONNERTH DEJACO eine Art Home-Base, von wo aus Vernetzung und reger Diskurs stattfindet .

Michael Wonnerth-Magnusson erinnert sich: „Aus den Erfahrungen, die ich in der Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus der pulsierenden Wiener Off-Space-Szene gemacht hatte, wurde mir bewusst, dass es dringend notwendig ist, mehr von ihnen einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit bekannt zu machen – im heimischen Kulturbetrieb, aber auch am internationalen Kunstmarkt – … und in Victoria habe ich dafür das perfekte Gegenüber gefunden, denn auch ihr Ziel ist es, sich für die lebendige österreichische Szene, die teilweise in der Wiener Galerienlandschaft unterrepräsentiert ist, stark zu machen.“

wonnerthdejaco.com
1010, Ballgasse 6

(Maria Christine Holter)

Courtesy Wonnerth Dejaco 2021, Foto: Peter Mochi
Katharina Höglinger, Zunge verlieren (losing tongue), Ausstellungsansicht, Wonnerth Dejaco, Wien 2021, courtesy Wonnerth Dejaco and the artist. Foto: Peter Mochi
Georg Petermichl, Universal Thoughts: Ambiguous Plus, Ausstellungsansicht, Wonnerth Dejaco, Wien 2021, courtesy Wonnerth Dejaco and the artist. Foto: Peter Mochi
Thea Moeller, Beach Road Scissors, Ausstellungsansicht, Wonnerth Dejaco, Wien 2021, courtesy Wonnerth Dejaco and the artist. Foto: Peter Mochi