Vienna Art WeekNews

Forms Larger and Bolder: EVA HESSE DRAWINGS

Eva Hesse No title, 1964 Pen, watercolor, gouache, and collage on paper 11 ⁹∕₁₆ × 16 ⁹∕₁₆ in., 29.4 × 42.1 cm Allen Memorial Art Museum, Oberlin College, Oberlin, OH. Gift of Helen Hesse Charash, 1983.106.1 © The Estate of Eva Hesse. Courtesy Hauser & Wirth

Unlike sculpture, which Eva Hesse (1936–1970) only started working with shortly before her death, drawing was a mainstay of the artist’s practice from the beginning. The Jewish artist of German extraction was considered a promising talent in her day; her turbulent life story and tragic early death only reinforced the myth surrounding her art. In an interview, the US-American artist noted that drawing had always come easy to her. Now mumok is showing a selection of sketches and drawings from the extensive holdings of the Allen Memorial Art Museum at Oberlin College, Ohio, where Hesse’s archive is located.

A diverse array of work – from early figurative studies, abstract-expressionist “scribbles” and suggestively erotic diagrams to sketches for sculptures – reveal Hesse’s ease with drawing and the joy she took in it. VIENNA ART WEEK spoke with curator Manuela Ammer about the exhibition.

VIENNA ART WEEK: Eva Hesse’s sculptures are widely known, the drawings less so. What relevance do they have for Hesse’s overall body of work?

Manuela Ammer: My impression is that Hesse saw drawing as a self-evident activity, a mode in which one can negotiate various closely-held impressions, considerations and emotions, before potentially translating them into other media, materials or dimensions.

VIENNA ART WEEK: Do you consider Hesse’s drawings an independent art form or are they more like sculptor’s sketches?

Ammer: Both. Hesse was undoubtedly interested in drawing as an artistic discipline and form of expression; her graphic works show an interest in virtuoso artists of her time including Arshile Gorky, Willem de Kooning and Cy Twombly, for example. But there are also pieces that were plainly meant to be used either in the preparation of sculptures or to accompany them. They are never purely technical, though, and they do capture such qualities as dynamism, density, or mass.

VIENNA ART WEEK: What fascinates you personally about Eva Hesse’s art?

Ammer: The “Hesse myth” was always a little bit of a turn-off for me personally. I sometimes had the impression that her biography pushed in front of the work, as it were, and skewed the way in which it is seen. That’s why it was interesting to conceive a presentation based on the lesser-known drawings that couldn’t exclude her biography and wouldn’t try to, but would try to bring other aspects to the fore.

VIENNA ART WEEK: Which aspects are the strongest here?

Ammer: Hesse’s play with the relationship between surface and space, for example, her close examination of the art of her time, and not least her extraordinary sense of color. Hesse’s courage sets an example for artists of any generation – she never hesitated to try something new, or to question and reinvent herself if necessary.

VIENNA ART WEEK: How important to the drawings are feminist theories or her role as a woman in the art world at that time?

Ammer: Hesse’s work has been discussed in feminist contexts like hardly any other, but she didn’t necessarily see herself as a feminist. Nevertheless, her work exemplifies an attempt to offset a hegemonic, male-identified aesthetic with other qualities.

VIENNA ART WEEK: How does that manifest itself?

Ammer: Hesse’s version of minimalism operates with the imperfect, with the impression of the handmade and organic; her works often seem psychologically charged. She paved the way for subsequent generations of artists to look for more complex relationships between art and life and to counter dogmatic notions of art with more inclusive approaches.

VIENNA ART WEEK: What conceptual considerations were there in the presentation at mumok?
Ammer: There is a tension in Hesse’s work between the joy of experimentation and conceptual rigor. This is particularly evident in the motif of the cube or the box, which appears both in the drawings and in the paintings and sculptures. Since the museum is also linked to the modernist idea of the “white cube,” we took the form of the cube to present Hesse’s drawings at mumok: Hesse’s works on paper are presented in three cubes at different stages of deconstruction.

Salomea Krobath

EXHIBITION
Forms Larger and Bolder: EVA HESSE DRAWINGS
from the Allen Memorial Art Museum at Oberlin College
16 NOV 2019 – 16 FEB 2020
mumok

Curated by Manuela Ammer and Barry Rosen together with Andrea Gyorody

Vienna Art WeekNews

Forms Larger and Bolder: EVA HESSE ZEICHNUNGEN

Eva Hesse No title, 1964 Pen, watercolor, gouache, and collage on paper 11 ⁹∕₁₆ × 16 ⁹∕₁₆ in., 29.4 × 42.1 cm Allen Memorial Art Museum, Oberlin College, Oberlin, OH. Gift of Helen Hesse Charash, 1983.106.1 © The Estate of Eva Hesse. Courtesy Hauser & Wirth

Im Unterschied zur Bildhauerei, mit der Eva Hesse (1936 – 1970) erst kurz vor ihrem Tod begann, begleitete sie das Zeichnen durch ihre gesamte künstlerische Laufbahn. Ihre turbulente Lebensgeschichte und der tragische frühe Tod verstärken den Mythos um ihre Kunst. In einem Interview meinte die US-Amerikanerin, dass ihr das Zeichnen immer leichtgefallen wäre. Das mumok zeigt nun erstmals in Österreich Eva Hesses grafisches Werk eine Auswahl ihrer diversen Skizzen und Zeichnungen aus den umfangreichen Beständen des Allen Memorial Art Museum am Oberlin College, Ohio, wo sich die Eva Hesse Archives befinden.

Eine vielfältige Auswahl von frühen figurativen Studien über abstrakt-expressive „Kritzeleien“ und suggestiv-erotische Diagramme bis hin zu Entwurfsskizzen für Skulpturen offenbart Hesses Leichtigkeit und Freude an der Zeichnung. VIENNA ART WEEK hat sich mit Kuratorin Manuela Ammer über die Ausstellung unterhalten.

VIENNA ART WEEK: Die bildhauerischen Arbeiten Eva Hesses sind einem breiten Publikum bekannt, die Zeichnungen jedoch weniger. Welche Relevanz haben sie in Hesses Schaffen?

Manuela Ammer: Mein Eindruck ist, dass Hesse das Zeichnen als selbstverständliche Aktivität empfunden hat, als einen Modus, in dem man unterschiedliche Eindrücke, Überlegungen und Emotionen nah bei sich selbst verhandeln kann, bevor man diese möglicherweise auch in andere Medien, Materialien oder Größendimensionen übersetzt.

VIENNA ART WEEK: Sehen Sie die Zeichnungen Eva Hesses als eigenständige Kunstform oder sind sie mit Bildhauerskizzen zu vergleichen?

Ammer: Sowohl als auch. Hesse hatte zweifelsohne ein Interesse an der Zeichnung als künstlerischer Disziplin und Ausdrucksform – in ihren Grafiken sieht man, dass sie sich mit den virtuosen Zeichnern ihrer Zeit beschäftigt hat, darunter Arshile Gorky, Willem de Kooning oder Cy Twombly. Insbesondere in Zusammenhang mit den Skulpturen gibt es definitiv aber auch Blätter, die vorbereitenden oder begleitenden Charakter haben. Allerdings sind selbst diese nie rein technischer Natur, sondern halten eher Qualitäten wie Dynamik, Dichte oder Masse fest.

VIENNA ART WEEK: Was fasziniert Sie persönlich an Eva Hesses Kunst?

Ammer: Mich persönlich hat der „Hesse-Mythos“ immer ein bisschen abgeschreckt. Ich hatte manchmal den Eindruck, dass sich ihre Biografie gleichsam vor das Werk schiebt und den Blick darauf verstellt. Deshalb war es interessant, anhand der weniger bekannten Zeichnungen eine Präsentation zu konzipieren, die ihre Biografie zwar nicht ausschließen kann oder will, aber andere Aspekte in den Vordergrund rückt.

VIENNA ART WEEK: Welche Aspekte zählen hier zu den Stärken?

Ammer: Etwa Hesses Spiel mit dem Verhältnis von Fläche und Raum, ihre intensive Auseinandersetzung mit der Kunst ihrer Zeit und nicht zuletzt ihr außergewöhnlicher Sinn für Farben. Für jede Generation von Kunstschaffenden beispielhaft ist Hesses Mut – sie hat nie gezögert, Neues auszuprobieren, sich selbst in Frage zu stellen und, wenn nötig, neu zu erfinden.

VIENNA ART WEEK: Welche Rolle spielen feministische Theorien bzw. ihre Rolle als Frau in der damaligen Kunstwelt in den Zeichnungen?

Ammer: Wenngleich Hesses Werk wie kaum ein anderes in feministischen Zusammenhängen diskutiert worden ist, hat sie sich selbst nicht unbedingt als Feministin verstanden. Nichtsdestotrotz steht ihr Werk beispielhaft für den Versuch, eine hegemoniale, männlich identifizierte Ästhetik mit anderen Qualitäten zu versetzen.

VIENNA ART WEEK: Wie drückt sich das aus?

Ammer: Hesses Variante des Minimalismus etwa operiert mit dem Imperfekten, mit der Anmutung des Handgemachten und Organischen; oft scheinen ihre Arbeiten psychisch „unter Spannung“ zu stehen. Damit bereitete sie nachfolgenden Generationen von Künstler_innen den Weg, nach komplexeren Beziehungen zwischen Kunst und Leben zu suchen und dogmatischen Vorstellungen von Kunst inklusivere Ansätze entgegenzusetzen.

VIENNA ART WEEK: Was waren die konzeptuellen Überlegungen bei der Präsentation im Museum moderner Kunst?

Ammer: In Hesses Werk lässt sich eine Spannung zwischen Experimentierfreude und konzeptueller Strenge verfolgen. Besonders deutlich zeigt sich dies am Motiv des Kubus oder der Box, das sowohl in der Zeichnung wie auch in der Malerei und Skulptur vorkommt. Da auch das Museum mit der modernistischen Idee des „White Cube“ verknüpft ist, haben wir im mumok für die Präsentation der Hesse-Zeichnungen die Form des Kubus aufgegriffen: Hesses Arbeiten auf Papier werden in drei Kuben gezeigt, die unterschiedliche Stadien der Dekonstruktion aufweisen.

Salomea Krobath

EXHIBITION
Forms Larger and Bolder: EVA HESSE ZEICHNUNGEN
aus dem Allen Memorial Art Museum at Oberlin College
16 NOV 2019 – 16 FEB 2020
mumok

Kuratiert von Manuela Ammer und Barry Rosen mit Andrea Gyorody