Vienna Art WeekNews

A search for self-conception

Ausstellungsansicht “Kalter Krieg und Architektur” © Architekturzentrum Wien, Foto: Lisa Rastl

Architekturzentrum Wien (Az W) has devoted its major fall exhibition to Austria’s role in the Cold War. In an interview, curator Monika Platzer explains what architecture has to do with it.

How did you come up with the idea of linking architecture and the Cold War?

I’ve been working on this topic for a long time and find it incredibly fascinating. For me it’s mostly about a shift of perspective when it comes to post-war Austrian Modernism. It’s high time to question the established canon of a supposed cultural void and intellectual isolation after 1945. Did that generation of Clemens Holzmeister and Karl Schwanzer disciples actually internationalize Austria, or could it have been the other way around – that internationalization first came about as a result of Allied cultural policy, which gave Austrian architects the freedom to show their mettle?

So it’s about Austria at the heart of the East-West conflict?

Politically, the Cold War had to do with more than just East-West polarization. People forget that Vienna, like Berlin, was also a theater for the four powers. Great Britain and France were also influential in their own way, for what they achieved in the way of cultural transfer. In the 1960s Austria took on a more active role as a mediator between the fronts, in Middle Eastern countries for example, with [Bruno] Kreisky as Foreign Minister. Architecture did the same in the political slipstream. It was a time when Austria was forging its identity.

As in “Austria is free”?

It was about more than just freedom; it also touched on the need for Austria’s self-conception as a European “special case” – and on the conviction that it had not been a Third Reich “perpetrator.” In terms of architecture, this manifested itself in the link to Viennese Modernism, which sought to create continuity with the architecture of the interwar period. This seamless continuation of the Adolf Loos or Otto Wagner tradition and the associated fading out of Austrofascist and National Socialist buildings continues to this day.

What role did 1950s architects play in this?

Well, you had the “Junge Wilde”, “young wild ones” like Wilhelm Holzbauer or Hans Hollein, who went to the United States on fellowships. But apart from individual careers, I think it’s important to show the discourses and ideologies behind architecture, because for me architectural history is always part of cultural history. So the exhibition will also show the networks that tied Austria to the world.

Which do you mean?

Forum Alpbach, for example, or CIAM Austria. The first exhibition on Modernism in Austria happened back in 1953, and Le Corbusier gave a lecture in Vienna as early as 1948. A group of young people took to it very enthusiastically; you could almost call them “Frenchmen of the East.” At the other end you had the Vienna University of Technology, which considered Le Corbusier a communist and a nutjob. The city of Vienna was much more focused on England, where the Labour Party built the welfare state and did a lot of urban planning. Vienna’s urban planning looked to the transnational garden city model, which was already in the works in the Nazi era. Continuity indeed!

Which buildings from that time reflect those Cold War networks?

First and foremost I’d say the Veitingergasse settlement in Vienna; it was built in the context of a US home ownership offensive designed to create a paradigm shift in social democratic housing policy. It was either ignored or overlooked by architectural historiography, and architecture critic Friedrich Achleitner classified the settlement as “Scandinavian.” A lot of these myths persist to this day, because the history of architecture consisted almost exclusively of architects’ own narratives.

Another example are the many shelters found in single-family homes until the 1980s; they are silent witnesses to the threat of nuclear war.

What other sources did you explore in your effort to dispel these myths?

Apart from the Az W’s collection, I mostly looked at magazines. You had “Bau” and “Aufbau,” which were published by the Zentralvereinigung der Architekten architects’ association and the City of Vienna, respectively, and as a media outlet controlled by stakeholders they left out quite a bit. Things get interesting when you have a look at Allied magazines or the communist publications “Die Brücke” and “Tagebuch.” There was an astonishing amount of discourse in the daily press, and architecture had a high metaphorical significance: It was all about construction, reorganization and cultural optimism for a new dawn. There was a surge in innovation in the construction industry thanks to new materials developed for the arms industry during the Second World War. The aluminum industry, for example, shifted its production to windows, doors and curtain wall systems in peacetime. Unlike art and architecture exhibitions, trade fair presentations reached a much larger audience at lower thresholds – a fact that the two superpowers in Vienna quickly exploited with their respective pavilions.

What will the Az W exhibition look like?

True to its subject matter, the exhibition will have four zones. They are preceded by a timeline showing global developments arising from the Cold War. We also take a look at two transnational networks: CIAM Austria and Forum Alpbach. There is a city map outlining the Allied infrastructure, showing Vienna as a Cold War setting. All this is rounded off with a large number of photographs, blueprints, films and original drawings that are being shown for the first time. The exhibition will include an international symposium entitled “Cold Transfer,” held in January 2020.

Maik Novotny

 

Kurzbiografie

Monika Platzer

Studied art history at the University of Vienna (doctorate 2017). Active at Architekturzentrum Wien since 1998, head of the collection, and curator. Research focus: 20th-century Austrian architectural and cultural history. Curatorial activity and supervision of various research and exhibition projects, including: “Vienna: The Pearl of the Empire. Planning for Hitler,” “a_schau: Austrian Architecture in the 20th and 21st Century,” “Lessons from Bernard Rudofsky,” “Shaping the Great City: Modern Architecture in Central Europe 1890–1937,” “Kineticism: Vienna Discovers the Avant-garde.” Editor of “icam print,” members’ journal for the International Confederation of Architectural Museums; 2014 Visiting Scholar at the Center for European Studies, Harvard University, USA; current research focus on architecture after 1945.

 

EXHIBITION

Cold War and Architecture
Contributions to Austria’s Democratization after 1945
17 OCT 2019–24 FEB 2020

AzW Architekturzentrum Wien

 

Die Vier im Jeep © llustration Epi Schlüsselberger, Georg Schmid, in: Ernst Marboe: Yes. Oui. O.k. Njet, Wien, 1954

 

Verteilung der EinwohnerInnen in den Besatzungszonen Wiens © in: United States Forces in Austria, Austria. A Graphic Survey, 1949

Vienna Art WeekNews

Suche nach dem Selbstbild

Ausstellungsansicht „Kalter Krieg und Architektur“ © Architekturzentrum Wien, Foto: Lisa Rastl

Das Architekturzentrum Wien (Az W) widmet sich in seiner großen Herbst-Ausstellung der Rolle Österreichs im Kalten Krieg. Kuratorin Monika Platzer erklärt im Interview, was dieser mit Architektur zu tun hat.

Wie kommt man auf die Idee, den Kalten Krieg mit Architektur zu kombinieren?

Ich arbeite schon lange an diesem Thema und finde es unglaublich faszinierend. Es geht mir vor allem um einen Wechsel der Perspektive auf die österreichische Nachkriegsmoderne. Es ist höchste Zeit, den etablierten Kanon der angeblichen kulturellen Leere und geistigen Isolation nach 1945 zu hinterfragen. Hat tatsächlich die Generation der Clemens-Holzmeister- und Karl-Schwanzer-Schüler Österreich internationalisiert, oder war es nicht umgekehrt so, dass die Internationalisierung zuerst durch die alliierte Kulturpolitik erfolgte, durch die österreichische Architektinnen und Architekten erst die Freiheit bekamen, ihre Rolle zu begründen?

Das heißt, es geht um Österreich im Spannungsfeld des Ost-West-Konflikts?

Beim Kalten Krieg ging es politisch nicht nur um Ost-West-Polarisierung. Man vergisst, dass Wien wie Berlin ein Schauplatz der vier Mächte war. Auch Großbritannien und Frankreich waren auf ihre Art einflussreich mit ihren kulturellen Transferleistungen. Ab den 1960er-Jahren nahm Österreich dann eine aktivere Rolle als Mittler zwischen den Fronten ein, etwa in den Ländern des Nahen Ostens, mit Kreisky als Außenminister. Im politischen Windschatten tat das auch die Architektur. Es war eine Zeit der österreichischen Identitätsfindung.

Im Sinne von „Österreich ist frei“

Es ging nicht nur um Freiheit, sondern auch um die Suche nach dem österreichischen Selbstbild als europäischer „Sonderfall“ – und aus der Überzeugung heraus, im Dritten Reich kein „Täter“ gewesen zu sein. In der Architektur drückte sich das durch das Anknüpfen an die Wiener Moderne aus, wodurch eine Kontinuität mit der Architektur der Zwischenkriegszeit hergestellt werden sollte. Dieses nahtlose Anschließen an die Tradition eines Adolf Loos oder eines Otto Wagner und die damit verbundene Ausblendung des Bauschaffens zur Zeit des Austrofaschismus und des Nationalsozialismus werden bis heute weitertradiert.

Welche Rolle spielten die Architekten der 1950er-Jahre dabei?

Es gab die „jungen Wilden“ wie Wilhelm Holzbauer oder Hans Hollein, die als Stipendiaten in die USA gingen. Aber neben den Einzelbiografien ist es mir wichtig, die Diskurse und Ideologien hinter der Architektur darzustellen, denn Architekturgeschichte ist für mich immer auch Teil der Kulturgeschichte. Die Ausstellung wird daher auch die Netzwerke aufzeigen, die Österreich mit der Welt verbanden.

Welche sind das?

Das Forum Alpbach etwa, oder CIAM Austria. Schon 1953 gab es die erste Ausstellung zur Moderne in Österreich, Le Corbusier hielt bereits 1948 einen Vortrag in Wien. Eine junge Gruppe hat das stark rezipiert, die konnte man schon fast als „Franzosen des Ostens“ bezeichnen. Bei den Lehrenden an der TU Wien dagegen galt Le Corbusier als „Spinner“ und Kommunist. Die Stadt Wien war viel mehr auf England fokussiert, wo die Labour Party den Wohlfahrtsstaat aufbaute und sich stadtplanerisch viel tat. Die Wiener Stadtplanung setzte auf das transnationale Gartenstadtmodell, das schon in der NS-Zeit weiterentwickelt wurde. Auch eine Kontinuität!

Welche Bauten aus jener Zeit spiegeln die Netzwerke des Kalten Kriegs wider?

Allen voran die Siedlung Veitingergasse in Wien; sie entstand vor dem Hintergrund einer US-Eigenheimoffensive, die einen Paradigmenwechsel der Wohnpolitik der Sozialdemokratie herleiten sollte. Das wurde von der Architekturgeschichtsschreibung unterschlagen oder übersehen, und der Architekturkritiker Friedrich Achleitner ordnete die Siedlung als „skandinavisch“ ein. Es gibt viele dieser Mythen, an die man heute noch glaubt, weil die Architekturhistorie fast nur aus Eigenerzählungen der Architekten und Architektinnen bestand.
Ein anderes Beispiel: Stumme Zeugen der Bedrohung durch den Atomkrieg stellen die vielen Schutzräume in Einfamilienhäusern bis in die 1980er-Jahre dar.

Welche anderen Quellen haben Sie erforscht, um diese Mythen aufzulösen?

Neben der Sammlung des Az W vor allem Zeitschriften. Es gab „Bau“ und „Aufbau“, die von der Zentralvereinigung der Architekten beziehungsweise der Stadt Wien herausgegeben wurden und als Medien der Interessenvertreter vieles ausließen. Spannend wird es, wenn man sich Zeitschriften der Alliierten anschaut oder die kommunistischen Medien „Die Brücke“ und „Tagebuch“. Erstaunlich viele Diskurse liefen über die Tagespresse, Architektur hatte einen hohen metaphorischen Stellenwert: Es ging um Aufbau, Neuordnung und einen kulturellen Optimismus hinsichtlich eines Neubeginns. In der Bauindustrie machte sich ein Innovationsschub mittels neuer Materialien bemerkbar, der auf der Rüstungsindustrie im Zweiten Weltkrieg basierte. So setzte die Aluminiumbranche in der Friedensproduktion auf Fenster, Türen und Curtainwall-Systeme. Im Gegensatz zu Kunst- und Architekturausstellungen erreichte man mit Messepräsentationen niederschwelliger ein weit größeres Publikum – eine Tatsache, die sich die beiden Supermächte in Wien mit ihren jeweiligen Pavillons schnell zunutze machten.

Wie wird die Ausstellung im Az W aussehen?

Passend zum Thema wird die Ausstellung vier Zonen aufweisen. Ihnen vorangestellt ist eine Zeitleiste mit den globalen Ereignissen des Kalten Krieges. Im Weiteren wird ein Blick auf zwei transnationale Netzwerke geworfen: CIAM Austria und das Forum Alpbach. Ein Stadtplan mit der Verortung der alliierten Infrastruktur verdeutlicht Wien als Schauplatz des Kalten Krieges. Viele erstmals gezeigte Fotografien, Pläne, Filme und Originalzeichnungen runden das Bild ab. Im Jänner 2020 wird es im Rahmen der Ausstellung ein international besetztes Symposium mit dem Namen „Cold Transfer“ geben.

Maik Novotny

Kurzbiografie:
Monika Platzer

Studium der Kunstgeschichte an der Universität Wien (Promotion 2017). Seit 1998 im Architekturzentrum Wien tätig, Leiterin der Sammlung und Kuratorin. Forschungsschwerpunkt: österreichische Architektur- und Kulturgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts. Kuratorische Tätigkeit bzw. Leitung bei diversen Forschungs- und Ausstellungsprojekten, u. a.: „Wien. Die Perle des Reiches. Planen für Hitler“, „a_schau. Österreichische Architektur im 20. und 21. Jahrhundert“, „Lessons from Bernard Rudofsky“, „Mythos Großstadt. Architektur und Stadtbaukunst in Zentraleuropa 1890–1937“, „Kinetismus. Wien entdeckt die Avantgarde“. Editor von „icam print“, der Mitgliederzeitschrift der International Confederation of Architectural Museums; 2014 Visiting Scholar am Center for European Studies, Harvard University, USA; aktuell Forschungsschwerpunkt zum Thema Architektur nach 1945.

EXHIBITION
Kalter Krieg und Architektur
Beiträge zur Demokratisierung Österreichs nach 1945
17 OKT 2019–24 FEB 2020

AzW Architekturzentrum Wien

 

Die Vier im Jeep © llustration Epi Schlüsselberger, Georg Schmid, in: Ernst Marboe: Yes. Oui. O.k. Njet, Wien, 1954

 

Verteilung der EinwohnerInnen in den Besatzungszonen Wiens © in: United States Forces in Austria, Austria. A Graphic Survey, 1949