EXHIBITIONS

“Eating your cake and baking it anew”

CRITIC’S PICKS FOR VIENNA ART WEEK
Miriam Stoney: Indebtedness. Die Haftung der Geschenknehmenden

Miriam Stoney, I ceased from Mental Fight (Forgive nothing, forget everything), 2021, Decorated cake, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti

Bhangra music frames the exhibition space. The eye is drawn to two inconspicuous masses: concave forms that could resemble scaled-down architectural models of brick industrial halls. Upon closer looking, they turn out to be stacked publications. The “Scunthorpe Correspondences” between Miriam Stoney and Tom Glencross anchor Stoney’s installations in her exhibition project: “Indebtedness: Die Haftung der Geschenknehmenden”  Questions about the relation between appropriation and resulting debts permeate into the labyrinth of non-linear processes of historiography. Consistently, they oppose the music’s distinct rhythm.

Miriam Stoney, Indebtedness: Die Haftung der Geschenknehmenden, installation view, Kevin Space 2021, Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti
Miriam Stoney, Indebtedness: Die Haftung der Geschenknehmenden, installation view, Kevin Space 2021, Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti
Miriam Stoney, Scunthorpe Correspondences, 2021, Booklet with texts written by Miriam Stoney and Tom Glencross, design by Benjamin Buchegger, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti

Ephemeral objects accumulate alongside black-and-white photographs. The fading glory of the steel town where Stoney and Glencross grew up, the working class’s disillusionment and an ambitious yet anonymous conformity draw a moved silence. Serving as subtle spatial reference, simple residential buildings and empty streets accompany six works of decolonial, feminist and anti-capitalist theory. Referencing a ritual of Sikhism, Stoney has laid the books down into miniature beds, though awaking them at the same time with the room-filling sound of a Punjabi Garage Mix by DJ Yung Singh. The Punjabi language textbook, however, remains protected and well-covered on its mattress. Waiting for the silence that embeds in deceptive security to thus avoid the unpleasant thoughts of personal contribution in the continuation of hierarchical, appropriating structures. The mix is looping. One of the photographs shows the roundabout within which one finds oneself again.

Miriam Stoney, Real objects, sensual qualities, 2021, Six beds for six books, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti

Stoney engages the books by placing them in relation to each other and to herself. She undertakes the complex attempt to create an ever-changing, multi-layered present. The simultaneity of self-initiated efforts and the inherent cultural expectations and obligations condense into the frosting of a fondant-covered birthday cake. The Oxford University logo, Scunthorpe United’s club crest and the Khanda emblem merge into a dynamic ring symbol. “You can’t have your cake and eat it, too” – do you preserve the cake in its intact idea of untouched wholeness, or do you eat it piece by piece, inevitably initiating the uncertain process of renewed completion? In analogy to the circular form, the exhibition narrative circulates relentlessly in search of a relational axis. Here it is a diagonally stretched clothesline connecting intertwined and interwoven self-reflections.

(Anna Barbieri)

 

Miriam Stoney, Real objects, sensual qualities, 2021, Six beds for six books, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti

EXHIBITIONS

Eating your cake and baking it anew

CRITIC'S PICKS FOR VIENNA ART WEEK
Miriam Stoney: Indebtedness. Die Haftung der Geschenknehmenden

Miriam Stoney, I ceased from Mental Fight (Forgive nothing, forget everything), 2021, Decorated cake, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti

Bhangra-Musik umrahmt den Ausstellungsraum. Der Blick fällt auf zwei unscheinbare Volumina: konkave Formen, die auch auch als reduzierte Architekturmodelle geziegelter Industriehallen erscheinen könnten. Sie entpuppen sich als gestapelte Publikationen. Die „Scunthorpe Correspondences“ zwischen Miriam Stoney und Tom Glencross verankern  Stoneys installativen Arbeiten in ihrem Ausstellungsprojekt „Indebtedness: Die Haftung der Geschenknehmenden.“ Ins Labyrinth nicht-linearer Geschichtsschreibungsprozesse dringen Fragen zu dem Verhältnis von Aneignung und der daraus resultierenden Verschuldung. Konsequent widersetzen sich diese dem klaren Rhythmus der Musik.

Miriam Stoney, Indebtedness: Die Haftung der Geschenknehmenden, installation view, Kevin Space 2021, Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti
Miriam Stoney, Indebtedness: Die Haftung der Geschenknehmenden, installation view, Kevin Space 2021, Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti
Miriam Stoney, Indebtedness: Die Haftung der Geschenknehmenden, installation view, Kevin Space 2021, Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti
Miriam Stoney, Indebtedness: Die Haftung der Geschenknehmenden, installation view, Kevin Space 2021, Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti
Miriam Stoney, Scunthorpe Correspondences, 2021, Booklet with texts written by Miriam Stoney and Tom Glencross, design by Benjamin Buchegger, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti

Es sind flüchtige Objekte, die sich hier neben Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografien akkumulieren. Der schwindende Glanz der Stahlstadt, in der Stoney und Glencross aufgewachsen sind, die Ernüchterung der arbeitenden Klasse und eine ehrgeizige, jedoch anonyme Konformität zeichnen eine bewegte Stille. Als dezentes räumliches Referenzwerk begleiten einfache Wohnhäuser und leere Straßen sechs Werke dekolonialer, feministischer und kapitalismuskritischer Theorie. Mit Verweis auf ein Ritual des Sikhismus hat Stoney die Bücher in Miniaturbetten niedergelegt und gleichzeitig durch den raumfüllenden Sound eines Punjabi Garage Mix des DJs Yung Singh wieder geweckt. Das Sprachlehrbuch für Punjabi verharrt jedoch behütet und gut zugedeckt auf seiner Matratze. Warten auf die Stille, die in trügerische Sicherheit bettet und so die unangenehmen Gedanken nach dem persönlichen Beitrag in der Fortschreibung hierarchischer, aneignender Strukturen ausspart. Der Mix läuft im Loop. Eine der Fotografien zeigt den Kreisverkehr, in dem man sich wiederfindet.

Miriam Stoney, Real objects, sensual qualities, 2021, Six beds for six books, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti

Stoney aktiviert die Bücher indem sie diese in Bezug zueinander und zu sich selbst platziert. Sie unternimmt den komplexen Versuch eine vielschichtige Gegenwart zu kreieren, die sich konstant ändert. Die Simultanität von selbstinitiierten Anstrengungen und den damit einhergehenden kulturellen Erwartungen und Verpflichtungen verdichtet sich im Zuckerguss einer mit Fondant überzogenen Geburtstagstorte. Das Logo der Oxford University, das Vereinswappen von Scunthorpe United und das Khanda-Emblem verschmelzen zu einem dynamischen Ringsymbol. „You can’t have your cake and eat it, too” – möchte man die Torte in ihrer unversehrten Idee der sicheren Ganzheit bewahren, oder isst man sie Stück für Stück und öffnet damit unweigerlich den ungewissen Prozess erneuter Vervollständigung? In Analogie zur Kreisform zirkuliert das Ausstellungsnarrativ unnachgiebig in der Suche nach einer relationalen Achse. Hier ist es eine schräg gespannte Wäscheleine, die verflochtene und verwobene Selbstreflexionen zusammenführt.

(Anna Barbieri)

Miriam Stoney, Sensual objects, real qualities, 2021, Four black and white photographs by Tom Glencross, framed, Courtesy the artists. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti
Miriam Stoney, Sensual objects, real qualities, 2021, Four black and white photographs by Tom Glencross, framed, Courtesy the artists. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti
Miriam Stoney, Real objects, sensual qualities, 2021, Six beds for six books, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti
Miriam Stoney, Real objects, sensual qualities, 2021, Six beds for six books, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti
Miriam Stoney, Real objects, sensual qualities, 2021, Six beds for six books, Courtesy the artist. Photo: Maximilian Anelli-Monti