EXHIBITIONS

Practice seeing with relish

Elfie Semotan. Position and Pose

Elfie Semotan, Self Portrait, 2020 © Elfie Semotan Courtesy: Studio Semotan

Is photography an art or a skill? It doesn’t really matter – the question does not arise in regard to the diverse oeuvre of Elfie Semotan. Under the title “Posture and Pose”, Kunst Haus Wien is dedicating an extensive retrospective to Elfie Semotan on the occasion of her 80th birthday until 29 August 2021. A visit to the exhibition is worthwhile, as it proves that photography can do more than the flood of images we swipe across our screens day after day.

Elfie Semotan, dancing story 307971.c2 #11 001

Even the first glance makes it clear that this is not a classic retrospective. The photographs are not arranged chronologically or according to thematic groups, but according to visual and thematic impressions. A very personal selection, that Elfie Semotan made together with the curators: “I started lining up photos on the wall in my studio, without regard to date, belonging to a series or other classifications,” says the sympathetic photographer, who comes across as both energetic and pragmatic. The joy of viewing and selecting remains visible during a visit to the exhibition. We see fashion photography, portraits, landscapes and “still lifes” as Semotan calls shots of static motifs.

Elfie Semotan, o.T. (Madonna mit Hunden Renaissance), 2005 © Elfie Semotan Courtesy: Studio Semotan

Upon entering the room, the photograph of a young woman in a blue dress catches the eye: colours, folds, composition – a modern Sistine Madonna flanked by pug-dogs instead of angels. Next to the almost life-size fashion Madonna hangs a small black-and-white photograph by Louise Bourgeois in the spotlight. Elfie Semotan is very fond of artists. The photographer was married to the artists Kurt Kocherscheidt and Martin Kippenberger. It was clear to Semotan at a young age that a bourgeois life simply did not suit her. That’s why, after attending fashion school, she turned her back on Austria to go to Paris with no money and lots of idealism. For a few years Semotan worked as a mannequin before she fulfilled her dream and switched behind the camera. Now her passion became her profession. Back in Austria, she gained a foothold in fashion and advertising photography; her campaigns for Römerquelle and Palmers are still well remembered by many. In addition, Semotan, who has lived in Vienna, New York and Jennersdorf/Burgenland, established herself as a fashion photographer of international standing. Her fashion series appeared in renowned fashion magazines such as Vogue, i-D, Elle, Esquire, Marie Claire and others.

Elfie Semotan, Vivien Solari (Life Moves Fast) New York, 2000/2008 © Elfie Semotan

Semotan’s closeness to art and its creators is not only expressed in numerous portraits of artists. She often finds inspiration in art history. She photographed the star model Vivien Solari crouching on the floor in “Live moves fast” inspired by Jeff Wall”, a fox terrier flies into the picture much like the gush of milk in Jeff Wall’s “Milk”.

“Posture and pose” is both the title and the central theme of the show. The fact that these two intentions are not always easy to distinguish becomes clear at the latest in a series of portrait photos: between a great deal of posture, for example that of Elfriede Jelinek and Johanna Dohnal in the legendary b/w portrait, the fashion photography of a coquettish pose à la Marilyn has slipped in. An exhibition that is worth to be experienced. At Kunst Haus Wien, you can currently practice seeing with relish.

(Barbara Libert)

lfie_Semotan_oT_Hair_Story_New_York_1997_2021_Elfie_Semotan_Crt_Studio_Se
Martin Kleid slide 001
Elfie Semotan o.T. Marfa Texas, 2016/2020, Elfie Semotan © Studio Semotan
Elfie Semotano.T. (Inspiriert von Diane Arbus), Americana, Wien, 2018/2020© Elfie Semotan, Courtesy: Studio Semotan
Elfie SemotanCordula Reyer (Puszta), Hungary, 1990/2013© Elfie Semotan, Courtesy: Studio Semotan

EXHIBITIONS

Lustvoll das Sehen üben

Elfie Semotan. Haltung und Pose

Elfie Semotan, Self Portrait, 2020 © Elfie Semotan Courtesy: Studio Semotan

Ist Fotografie Kunst oder Können? Eigentlich ganz egal – die Frage ist überflüssig angesichts des vielfältigen Werks von Elfie Semotan. Unter dem Titel „Haltung und Pose“ widmet das Kunst Haus Wien bis 29.08.2021 Elfie Semotan aus Anlass ihres 80. Geburtstags eine umfangreiche Retrospektive. Ein Ausstellungsbesuch lohnt, beweist er doch: Fotografie kann mehr als die Bilderflut, die wir Tag für Tag über unsere Bildschirme swipen.

Elfie Semotan, dancing story 307971.c2 #11 001

Schon der erste Blick macht deutlich, dass es sich nicht um eine klassische Retrospektive handelt. Die Fotografien sind nicht chronologisch oder nach Themengruppen angeordnet, sondern nach visuellen und inhaltlichen Eindrücken. Eine sehr persönliche Auswahl also, die Elfie Semotan gemeinsam mit den Kuratorinnen getroffen hat: „Ich begann in meinem Atelier Fotos an der Wand aneinanderzureihen, ohne Rücksichtnahme auf Datum, Zugehörigkeit zu einer Serie oder sonstige Klassifizierungen“, erzählt die sympathische Fotografin, die ebenso energetisch wie pragmatisch wirkt. Die Freude am Sichten und Aussuchen bleibt beim Besuch der Ausstellung spürbar. Wir sehen Modefotografie, Porträts, Landschaften und „Still Lifes“ wie Semotan Aufnahmen von unbeweglichen Motiven nennt.

Elfie Semotan, o.T. (Madonna mit Hunden Renaissance), 2005 © Elfie Semotan Courtesy: Studio Semotan

Beim Betreten des Raums sticht die Fotografie einer jungen Frau im blauen Kleid ins Auge: Farben, Falten, Komposition – eine moderne Sixtinische Madonna, die anstatt von Engeln von Möpsen flankiert wird. Neben der fast lebensgroßen Modemadonna hängt im Spotlight eine kleine Schwarz-Weiß-Fotografie von Louise Bourgeois. Künstlerinnen und Künstler haben es Elfie Semotan in jeder Hinsicht angetan. In diesem Zusammenhang soll nicht unerwähnt bleiben: Die Fotografin war mit den Künstlern Kurt Kocherscheidt und Martin Kippenberger verheiratet. Dass ein bürgerliches Leben für sie einfach nicht passt, war Semotan schon in jungen Jahren klar. Deswegen hat sie nach dem Besuch der Modeschule Österreich den Rücken gekehrt, um ohne Geld und mit viel Idealismus nach Paris zu gehen. Ein paar Jahre arbeitete Semotan als Mannequin, bevor sie sich ihren Traum erfüllt und hinter die Kamera wechselt. Jetzt wird die Leidenschaft zum Beruf. Zurück in Österreich fasste sie in der Mode- und Werbefotografie Fuß, ihre Kampagnen für Römerquelle und Palmers sind vielen noch gut in Erinnerung. Daneben etablierte sich die in Wien, New York und Jennersdorf/Burgenland lebende Semotan als Modefotografin internationalen Rangs. Ihre Modestrecken erschienen in namhaften Modemagazinen wie Vogue, i-D, Elle, Esquire, Marie Claire und anderen.

Elfie Semotan, Vivien Solari (Life Moves Fast) New York, 2000/2008 © Elfie Semotan

Semotans Nähe zur Kunst und deren Gestalter äußert sich nicht nur in zahlreichen Porträts Kunstschaffender. Häufig findet sie Inspiration in der Kunstgeschichte. Das Starmodel Vivien Solari lichtete sie in „Live moves fast“ inspired by Jeff Wall“ am Boden hockend ab, ein Foxterrier fliegt ins Bild ganz wie der Milchschwall in Jeff Walls „Milk“.

„Haltung und Pose“, so zugleich Titel und roter Faden der Schau. Dass diese beiden Intentionen nicht immer leicht zu unterscheiden sind, wird spätestens bei einer Reihe von Porträtfotos deutlich: Zwischen ganz viel Haltung, beispielsweise jener von Elfriede Jelinek und Johanna Dohnal im legendären S/W-Porträt ist die Modefotografie einer koketten Pose à la Marilyn gerutscht. Im Kunst Haus Wien lässt sich derzeit lustvoll das Sehen üben.

(Barbara Libert)

Elfie Semotan, Martin Kippenberger in Issey Miyake, Wien, 1996/2021© Elfie Semotan, Courtesy: Studio Semotan
Elfie Semotano. T. (Inspiriert von Roy Lichtenstein), New York, 2003/2012© Elfie Semotan, Courtesy: Studio Semotanund Galerie Gisela Captain, Köln
Elfie SemotanCordula Reyer (Puszta), Hungary, 1990/2013© Elfie Semotan, Courtesy: Studio Semotan
Elfie Semotano.T. (Inspiriert von Diane Arbus), Americana, Wien, 2018/2020© Elfie Semotan, Courtesy: Studio Semotan
Elfie Semotan o.T. Marfa Texas, 2016/2020, Elfie Semotan © Studio Semotan
Elfie Semotano.T. ( Hair Story), New York, 1997/2021 © Elfie Semotan, Courtesy: Studio Semotan